Thanks for a great 2017 season - see everyone in 2018!
RSS Twitter Facebook YouTube
WoO Four Wide 2017

Date Set for 2018 World of Outlaws Boot Hill Showdown at DCRP

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (November 9, 2017) – It’s time for Sprint Car racing fans to break out those 2018 calendars.  And the date can be circled for the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car series return to... Continue »
woo2017-2 980

World of Outlaws Boot Hill Showdown Cancelled Due to Frigid Temperatures

CONCORD, NC — Oct. 24,2017 — The arrival of Winter and the frigid northern cold blast has prompted an early cancellation of this weekend’s World of Outlaws Craftsman® Sprint Car Series Outlaw Boot Hill Showdown at Dodge City Raceway... Continue »
Taylor Velasquez Win 091617 980

Velasquez Victorious in DCRP’s Soderberg Memorial Championship; Nusser, Davidson, Munoz & Wahrman Win as Well

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (September 16, 2017) – Taylor Velasquez secured his second consecutive Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Car championship by adding another Jerry Soderberg Memorial Championship win in Saturday night’s 25-lap DCRP vs. URSS Sprint Car... Continue »
bubak&cranston 980

Championship Chases at DCRP to be Settled on Saturday Night

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (September 15, 2017) – It all began back in April.  Now, a quick five months later, the 2017 championship battles come to a close with Saturday night’s Fifth Annual Jerry Soderberg Memorial Championship event... Continue »
Tom Reed 980

The Ironmen of DCRP

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (September 14, 2017) – Each year, more than 200 drivers take part in at least some portion of Dodge City Raceway Park championship chase action with upwards of 100 or so possible on any... Continue »

DCRP Championship Chase Round Two on Saturday!

05 May 2017 | Featured News | |    

mods050716 980dLonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (May 5, 2017) – Ideal weather conditions will greet fans and racers alike for Round Two of championship chase action on Saturday night at Dodge City Raceway Park.

Headlining Saturday’s card that gets under way at 7:30 p.m. is the Fifth Annual Modified Stampede that offers up a $1,200 winner’s share for the IMCA Modifieds.  Also in action will be the Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars, IMCA Sport Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars and IMCA Hobby Stocks.

Leading the way into Saturday’s card after opening night wins on April 15 are Ty Williams (Sprint Cars), Cole Traugott (Modifieds), Jeff Kaup (IMCA Sport Modifieds), Angel Munoz (Stock Cars) and Matt O’Hair (Hobby Stocks).

Tickets for the event are just $15 for adults with children 11 and under admitted free when accompanied by an adult.  A pair of bicycles will also be awarded to two fortunate children.

Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars:

After leading the opening lap, Ty Williams backed up fourth before rallying and taking the win away from defending track champ Taylor Velasquez in the final corner.  It was Williams’ second opening night win in the last three years.

Feature Winners: Ty Williams 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Ty Williams (Arcadia, OK) 150, 2. Taylor Velasquez (Turpin, OK) 145, 3. Jake Martens (Fairview, OK) 141, 4. Koby Walters (Liberal, KS) 138, 5. Jordan Knight (Wright, KS) 135, 6. Ray Seemann (Jetmore, KS) 132, 7. Brian Herbert (Dodge City, KS) 129, 8. Tyler Knight (Spearville, KS) 126, 9. Brandy Jones 123, 10. Steven Richardson (Liberal, KS) 120.


IMCA Modifieds:

Cole Traugott topped last year’s win charts in the Modified ranks and opened the year with another win, holding off Steven Bowers, Jr., to top the opener.  Traugott also enters Saturday as the reigning Modified Stampede champion.

Feature Winners: Cole Traugott 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Cole Traugott (Woodward, OK) 150, 2. Steven Bowers, Jr. (Topeka, KS) 145, 3. David Murray (Oberlin, KS) 141, 4. Troy Gemmill (Ponca City, OK) 138, 5. Brendon Gemmill (Ponca City, OK) 135, 6. Clay Sellard (Bucklin, KS) 132, 7. Randy Wilson (Wichita, KS) 129, 8. Mike Petersilie (Hoisington, KS) 126, 9. Jesse Richter (Great Bend, KS) 123, 10. Ryan Heger (Hugoton, KS) 120.


IMCA Sport Modifieds:

Nobody has topped more Sport Mod races at DCRP over the past five years as Jeff Kaup.  And Kaup captured another one on opening night, working the high side to spoil a strong effort from Brian Davidson.

Feature Winners: Brian Davidson 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Jeff Kaup (Woodward, OK) 150, 2. Brian Davidson (Delphos, KS) 145, 3. Eric Munoz (Lamar, CO) 141, 4. Adam Stenzel (Hays, KS) 138, 5. Kyle Wiens (Newton, KS0 135, 6. Alex Wiens (Newton, KS) 132, 7. Kohl Ricke (Spearville, KS) 129, 8. Tanner Brunson (Minneola, KS) 126, 9. Skyler Wissman (Ellinwood, KS) 123, 10. Matthew Crowell (Clearwater, KS) 120.


IMCA Stock Cars:

Michael Pepper had hopes of extending the seven-race win streak that he ended the 2016 season with, but Colorado’s Angel Munoz had his say by winning the opener.

Feature Winners: Angel Munoz 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Angel Munoz (Lamar, CO) 150, 2. Jack Pepper 145, 3. Landon Maddox (Lahoma, OK) 141, 4. Michael Pepper (Lakin, KS) 138, 5. Travis Baird (Chester, OK) 135, 6. Tommy Fose (WaKeeney, KS) 132, 7. Austin Walker (Utica, KS) 129, 8. Cody Zimmerman (Dighton, KS) 126, 9. Chris Oliver (Holcomb, KS) 123, 10. Ondre Rexford 120.


IMCA Hobby Stocks:

A winner of at least two DCRP features over each of the past four years, defending track champ Matt O’Hair is off to a quick start after winning the opener.

Feature Winners: Matt O’Hair 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Matt O’Hair (Laverne, OK) 150, 2. Reagan Sellard (Bucklin, KS) 145, 3. Duane Wahrman (Pratt, KS) 141, 4. Tyler Walker (Dighton, KS) 138, 5. Cameron Austin (Lamar, CO) 135, 6. Tobby Schield (Sublette, KS) 132, 7. Gerald Walker 129, 8. Jacob Huse (Kinsley, KS) 126, 9. Jerry Rabe 123, 10. Chad Kelley 120.


While the Fifth Annual Modified Stampede offers up a $1,200 winner’s share with $150 to start the feature, the entire feature payout is as follows:  1st – $1,200, 2nd – $800, 3rd – $600, 4th – $550, 5th – $500, 6th – $450, 7th – $400, 8th – $350, 9th – $300, 10th – $275, 11th – $250, 12th – $225, 13th – $200, 14th – $175, 15th – $150, 16th – $150, 17th – $150, 18th – $150, 19th – $150, 20th – $150.

The 2017 season at Dodge City Raceway Park consists of 14 total nights of racing action, culminating with the return of the World of Outlaws Sprint Car series for the “Boot Hill Showdown” on October 27-18.  The complete 2017 schedule of events at Dodge City Raceway Park is available at

Dodge City Raceway Park is located on the south edge of Dodge City, KS, on US 283, then 0.9 miles west on US 56, then 0.1 miles south.  For more information, contact the track at 620-225-3277 or check