Championship Chase Night One on Saturday, May 5!
RSS Twitter Facebook YouTube
DCRP Rain 060317

Inclement Weather Postpones Modified Stampede at DCRP

DODGE CITY, Kan. (April 19, 2018) – Mother Nature continues her domination of Dodge City Raceway Park in 2018 with Saturday’s scheduled event atop the 3/8-mile clay oval in southwest Kansas postponed due to inclement weather. With forecasts of... Continue »
mods052817 980

DCRP Opens Season with April 21 Modified Stampede

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (April 11, 2018) – After a pair of foiled attempts to get the 2018 racing season under way, Dodge City Raceway Park will kick things off in style with the Sixth Annual Modified Stampede... Continue »

Dismal Weather Conditions Stops DCRP Again

DODGE CITY, Kan. (April 6, 2018) – For the second weekend in a row, unfavorable weather conditions have forced the postponement of the season opening event atop the 3/8-mile Dodge City Raceway Park clay oval in southwest Kansas. Expected... Continue »
DCRP Rain 060317

DCRP Season Opener Postponed by Inclement Weather – Reset for April 7

DODGE CITY, Kan. (March 29, 2018) – The season will open at Dodge City Raceway Park another seven days later, as Saturday night’s scheduled event atop the 3/8-mile clay oval has been postponed due to forecasts of bone-chilling weather.... Continue »

Saturday Practice Precedes DCRP Season Opener!

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (March 21, 2018) – Activity is picking up around the Dodge City Raceway Park 3/8-mile clay oval with opening night just ten days away. But first, an Open Practice session is on tap for... Continue »

DCRP Championship Chases Heating Up Going into Saturday Night!

30 June 2017 | Featured News | |    

sportmods052817 980Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (June 30, 2017) – The first of three critical rounds of championship chase action at Dodge City Raceway Park over the course of July is set for Saturday night atop the 3/8-mile clay oval in southwest Kansas.

Saturday’s card that fires off at 7:30 p.m. features the Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars, IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sport Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars and IMCA Hobby Stocks.

Leading the way into Saturday’s card in their respective divisions are Taylor Velasquez, Cole Traugott, Jeff Kaup, Angel Munoz and Reagan Sellard.  The question is, which of them will still be atop the point after Saturday’s action and which of them will surrender the top position?

A look at the title chases…

Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars:

While the big money from the Lewis Automotive DCRP Sprint Car Nationals went to Texas with Kevin Ramey, defending track champ Taylor Velasquez put together a good enough weekend to escape with a 16-point advantage over DCRP Sprint Car Nationals prelim winner Tyler Knight with Kris Moore making a move to third.  Only seven points separate Moore, Jordan Knight and Brandy Jones in the battle for third.

Feature Winners: Ty Williams 2, Jake Bubak 1, Tyler Knight 1, Kevin Ramey 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Taylor Velasquez (Turpin, OK) 688, 2. Tyler Knight (Wright, KS) 672, 3. Kris Moore (Dodge City, KS) 608, 4. Jordan Knight (Wright, KS) 604, 5. Brandy Jones (Dodge City, KS) 601, 6. Ty Williams (Arcadia, OK) 573, 7. Ross Essenberg (Wichita, KS) 550, 8. Koby Walters (Liberal, KS) 543, 9. Ray Seemann (Jetmore, KS) 525, 10. Brian Herbert (Dodge City, KS) 519.


 IMCA Modifieds:

 After winning in eight consecutive trips to DCRP including the opening two events of the year, Cole Traugott has been denied victory lane the last three times out by Clay Sellard, Randle McRoberts and Tracy Link.  The wins by McRoberts and Link on the June 16-17 weekend was the first at DCRP for both drivers.

Finishing lower than second just once, Traugott is out to a 55-point lead over Sellard.

Feature Winners: Cole Traugott 2, Tracy Link 1, Randle McRoberts 1, Clay Sellard 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Cole Traugott (Woodward, OK) 716, 2. Clay Sellard (Bucklin, KS) 661, 3. Mike Lunow (Dodge City, KS) 618, 4. Nick Link (Rolla, KS) 591, 5. Randy Wilson (Wichita, KS) 586, 6. Dale Wanger (Ft. Supply, OK) 575, 7. Kale Beavers (Pierceville, KS) 567, 8. Jack Kirchoff (Garden City, KS) 548, 9. Kevin Gray (Ulysses, KS) 547, 10. Brendon Gemmill (Ponca City, OK) 537.


IMCA Sport Modifieds:

Three-time track champ Jeff Kaup has won two-of-three thus far and finished second in the other one to open up an early 66 point advantage over Alex Wiens, who leads the way in the battle for second.

Feature Winners: Jeff Kaup 2, Dakota Sproul 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Jeff Kaup (Woodward, OK) 445, 2. Alex Wiens (Newton, KS) 379, 3. Dan Rogers (Buffalo, OK) 371, 4. Kyle Wiens (Newton, KS) 355, 5. Brian May (Spearville, KS) 350, 6. Kohl Ricke (Spearville, KS) 347, 7. Jarett Lunow (Dodge City, KS) 340, 8. Joey Maupin (Dodge City, KS) 336, 9. Toby Witthuhn (Garden City, KS) 334, 10. Dakota Sproul (Ellis, KS) 295.


IMCA Stock Cars:

Angel Munoz broke out of the gates by winning three in a row before two-time and defending track champ Michael Pepper finally broke the streak with a triumph the last time out on June 17.

Munoz’ lead in the title chase is still a healthy one at 76 points, with only eight points separating the trio of Travis Baird, Dusty Witthuhn and Jack Pepper in the scrum for second.

Feature Winners: Angel Munoz 3, Michael Pepper 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Angel Munoz (Lamar, CO) 595, 2. Travis Baird (Chester, OK) 519, 3. Dusty Witthuhn (Bazine, KS) 512, 4. Jack Pepper (Lakin, KS) 511, 5. Ondre Rexford (Parts Unknown) 485, 6. Marlin Hogie (Ulysses, KS) 475, 7. Michael Pepper (Lakin, KS) 433, 8. Gregg Schell (Cheney, KS) 387, 9. Chris Oliver (Holcomb, KS) 339, 10. Ron Hartman (Ulysses, KS) 276.


IMCA Hobby Stocks:

With three winners in three races among the Hobby Stock ranks, Reagan Sellard holds a slim eight-point lead over Duane Wahrman with reigning champ Matt O’Hair just 31 points off the lead pace while trying to bounce back from an early DNF.  Sellard won the most recent Hobby Stock feature on May 28 in dramatic fashion after flipping in his heat race.

Feature Winners: Matt O’Hair 1, Reagan Sellard 1, Duane Wahrman 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Reagan Sellard (Bucklin, KS) 440, 2. Duane Wahrman (Pratt, KS) 432, 3. Matt O’Hair (Laverne, OK) 409, 4. Tyler Walker (Dighton, KS) 402, 5. Brett Copeland (Fowler, KS) 371, 6. Bryan Habiger (Ingalls, KS) 370, 7. Gerald Walker (Dighton, KS) 369, 8. Jacob Huse (Kinsley, KS) 356, 9. Tom Reed (Kalvesta, KS) 311, 10. Norman Rogers 308.


Tickets for Saturday’s championship chase card are just $15 for adults with children 11 and under admitted free when accompanied by an adult.

The 2017 season at Dodge City Raceway Park consists of 14 total nights of racing action, culminating with the return of the World of Outlaws Sprint Car series for the “Boot Hill Showdown” on October 27-18.  The complete 2017 schedule of events at Dodge City Raceway Park is available at

Dodge City Raceway Park is located on the south edge of Dodge City, KS, on US 283, then 0.9 miles west on US 56, then 0.1 miles south.  For more information, contact the track at 620-225-3277 or check