2015 Season begins with Open Practice on April 4!
RSS Twitter Facebook YouTube

Precise Racing Products Sponsors DCRP Sprint Cars!

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (March 11, 2015) – With Sprint Cars becoming an even bigger part of the Dodge City Raceway Park slate of events in 2015, Precise Racing Products has signed on as title sponsor of the... Continue »
mods052414 980b

DCRP Announces Driver Appreciation Night in July

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (March 5, 2015) – A big night on the 2015 Dodge City Raceway Park slate will be even bigger now, as the July 24 card will be a Driver Appreciation and First Responder Night... Continue »

Car Show & Practice Precedes Season Opener!

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (March 3, 2015) – Little more than one month away, the 2015 season opener at Dodge City Raceway Park is rapidly approaching. And, before the season officially gets under way on Saturday night, April... Continue »
sportmodbattle082314 980

Status Quo for DCRP Sport Mods in 2015

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (February 3, 2015) – The IMCA Sport Modified have ranked as one of the most competitive divisions atop the 3/8-mile Dodge City Raceway Park clay oval over the past several seasons. And, despite the... Continue »
urss 072514 980

Dodge City Raceway Park Releases Tentative 2015 Schedule

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (November 4, 2014) – With the distribution of championship hardware and point fund monies in the books this past weekend, the tentative slate of 2015 events for Dodge City Raceway Park has been released.... Continue »

Down the Stretch They Go in DCRP Title Chases!

14 August 2014 | Featured News | |    

mods071914 980Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (August 14, 2014) – The USAC Southwest Sprint Cars won’t be the only ones with something on the line when the green flag flies at Dodge City Raceway Park on Saturday night.

While Saturday’s card that fires off at 7:30 p.m. marks the fourth and final leg of the non-win USAC Southwest Sprint Cars “Freedom Tour”, it also feature championship chase action for four of the track’s five regular divisions.

And with just two nights of action remaining after Saturday’s card, the importance of Saturday’s action is only magnified.

With USAC Southwest “Freedom Tour” intensity building after Arizona’s R.J. Johnson topped a field of 34 in last night’s opener at Oklahoma’s Lawton Speedway, a look at the DCRP championship chases follows…

IMCA Modifieds:

Finishing one position ahead of defending track champ Austin Allen the last time out, Ryan Heger was able to “stretch” his lead all the way out to four points. And with a five-point differential between first and second in the main event, the title is up for grabs with three nights remaining.

A DNF last time out hurt Cole Traugott’s chances, though he could still make a run at the top spot at just 39 points out of the lead.

Behind the lead trio, only 15 points separates the four drivers battling for fourth. Those four are Nick Link, Jesse Smith, Kale Beavers and Mike Lunow.

Feature Winners: Brendon Gemmill 2, Scott Brown 1, Van Gemmill 1, Danny Keller 1, Joel Lane 1, Clay Sellard 1, Jesse Smith.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Ryan Heger (Hugoton, KS) 1,027, 2. Austin Allen (Wichita, KS) 1,023, 3. Cole Traugott (Woodward, OK) 988, 4. Nick Linn (Rolla, KS) 946, 5. Jesse Smith (Dodge City, KS) 942, 6. Kale Beavers (Pierceville, KS) 937, 7. Mike Lunow (Dodge City, KS) 931, 8. William Nusser (Larned, KS) 839, 9. Joel Lane (Ulysses, KS) 833, 10. Tracy Link (Hugoton, KS) 811.


IMCA Sport Modifieds:

Closing in on a second straight track title, Jeff Kaup added his third win of the year in the most recent event on July 25 to extend his points lead to 86 points over Josh Appel, who is trying to break away from the tightly-bunched pack in the battle for second.

Saturday could see a big Sport Mod outing with the Inaugural $1,000-to-win Sport Modified Mayhem event just seven nights later on August 23.

Feature Winners: Jeff Kaup 3, Michael Shenberger 2, Josh Appel 1, Nate Ginest 1, Clay Money 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Jeff Kaup (Woodward, OK) 1,119, 2. Josh Appel (Dodge City, KS) 1,033, 3. Toby Witthuhn (Garden City, KS) 1,012, 4. Austin Walker (Utica, KS) 1,007, 5. Jason Lunow (Dodge City, KS) 992, 6. Randle McRoberts (Dodge City, KS) 971, 7. Tristen Barton (Dighton, KS) 966, 8. Brian May (Spearville, KS) 925, 9. Mike Appel (Dodge City, KS) 908, 10. Bart Baker (Dodge City, KS) 872.


IMCA Stock Cars:

Nearly matching Kaup’s Sport Mod lead is Perry Misner, who is closing in on his second track championship in three years with an 84 point edge over Michael Pepper.

Pepper is just 11 points ahead of Dusty Witthuhn in the race for second with Reagan Sellard only nine points ahead of Randy Dowell in the battle for fourth.

Feature Winners: Perry Misner 4, Angel Munoz 2, Scott Drake 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Perry Misner (Garden City, KS) 1,025, 2. Michael Pepper (Lakin, KS) 941, 3. Dusty Witthuhn (Bazine, KS) 930, 4. Reagan Sellard (Bucklin, KS) 899, 5. Randy Dowell (Ulysses, KS) 890, 6. Marlin Hogie (Ulysses, KS) 842, 7. Brett Copeland (Fowler, KS) 834, 8. Kyle Tillery (Beaver, OK) 719, 9. Justin Lewis (Dighton, KS) 597, 10. Shane Tillery (Laverne, OK) 572.


Thunder Cars:

Only three points separate William Bauer from Matt O’Hair in the Thunder Car title chase. Bauer has been the model of consistency with all seven finishes between fourth and sixth thus far. But he may need a win to put this one away.

Feature Winners: Cody Davis 3, Sonny O’Hair 2, Matt O’Hair 1, Dan Rogers 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. William Bauer (Ness City, KS) 954, 2. Matt O’Hair (Laverne, OK) 951, 3. Dan Rogers (Buffalo, OK) 922, 4. Tom Reed (Kalvesta, KS) 870, 5. Bryan Habiger (Ingalls, KS) 849, 6. Norman Carr (Garden City, KS) 844, 7. Dustin Walker (Buffalo, OK) 786, 8. Cody Davis (Bucklin, KS) 736, 9. Sonny O’Hair (Laverne, OK) 650, 10. Tobby Schield (Sublette, KS) 645.



Jarett Lunow will have to wait one more week until August 23 to try to make it seven-for-seven in Hornet action on the inner asphalt oval.

Feature Winners: Jarett Lunow 6.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Jarett Lunow (Dodge City, KS) 900, 2. Brandon Bogner (Wright, KS), 829, 3. Marci O’Hair (Laverne, OK) 750, 4. (tie) Jarred Nightengale (Dodge City, KS) and Kohle Ricke (Dodge City, KS) 701, 6. Andy Copeland (Fowler, KS) 676, 7. Zak Moore (Dodge City, KS) 396, 8. Tyler Olson (Tyrone, OK) 270, 9. Nathan Barton (Dighton, KS) 213, 10. Cheryl Copeland (Fowler, KS) 132.


Tickets to Saturday’s Second Annual USAC Southwest Freedom Tour finale along with Modifieds, Sport Modifieds, Stock Cars and Thunder Cars are just $20 for adults with children 11 and under free when accompanied by an adult.

Dodge City Raceway Park is located on the south edge of Dodge City, KS, on US 283, then 0.9 miles west on US 56, then 0.1 miles south. For more information, contact the track at 620-225-3277 or check www.dodgecityraceway.com.