Don't miss Saturday night's Labor Day Weekend Special - Championship Chase action on September 1 with the Green Flag flying at 7:30 p.m.!
RSS Twitter Facebook YouTube

Pre-Entry Deadline for BMI Racing Products Dodge City 200 Enduro is Saturday, September 1!

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (August 28, 2018) – Those planning on competing in the BMI Racing Products Dodge City 200 Enduro set for Saturday, September 22, at Dodge City Raceway Park still have an opportunity to save $50... Continue »

Labor Day Weekend Special on Tap for Saturday at DCRP!

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (August 27, 2018) – The penultimate round of 2018 championship chase action atop the 3/8-mile Dodge City Raceway Park clay oval in southwest Kansas is set for this Saturday night, September 1. Saturday’s Labor... Continue »

J.D. Johnson Scores DCRP Sprint Car Win with Todd Shute, Jarett Lunow, Tyler Tipton and Duane Wahrman in Victory Lane as Well

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (August 25, 2018) – J.D. Johnson made a long awaited return to Dodge City Raceway Park’s victory lane by storming to the checkered flag in Saturday night’s 20-lap Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Car... Continue »

DCRP Championship Chases to the Critical Stage on Saturday!

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (August 20, 2018) – It’s getting down to the nitty gritty at Dodge City Raceway Park. And Saturday’s championship chase tilt is critical in points chases for each of the Precise Racing Products DCRP... Continue »

Mike Roach Rules Sport Modified Mayhem at DCRP with Brendon Gemmill, Dusty Witthuhn & Tathan Burkhart Scoring as Well!

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (August 18, 2018) – Woodward, Oklahoma’s Mike Roach became the first repeat winner of Dodge City Raceway Park’s $1,000-to-win Sport Modified Mayhem event by racing to victory lane in Saturday night’s fifth rendition of... Continue »

Half Way to the DCRP Titles!

23 June 2016 | Featured News | |    

dcrpmods061816 980Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (June 23, 2016) – This Saturday’s H&H Roofing Night at Dodge City Raceway Park marks the halfway point of the 2016 season at the state-of-the-art 3/8-mile clay oval in southwest Kansas.

A handful of drivers including Taylor Velasquez, Nick Link, Kevin Tabor, Michael Pepper and Cody Davis are in the driver’s seat for the 2016 DCRP track championships, but there is still plenty of time for major changes to take place.

Saturday’s H&H Roofing Night action that goes green at 7:30 p.m. includes IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sport Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars and IMCA Hobby Stocks.

Adult admission for Saturday night’s action is a mere $10.

A look at this year’s title chases at the midway point… 

Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars: 

With six races down and seven to go, Turpin, Oklahoma’s Taylor Velasquez holds a slim 11-point advantage over defending track champ Luke Cranston. Velasquez ranks as the only repeat winner thus far in 2016.

The DCRP Sprint Cars get this Saturday night off to prep for next weekend’s “Boothill Showdown” Steve King Memorial on July 1-2 that offers up a $2,000 winner’s share for the URSS vs. DCRP Sprint Cars in support of the $10,000-to-win NCRA Sprint Car extravaganza.

Feature Winners: Taylor Velasquez 2, Luke Cranston 1, Brian Herbert 1, C.J. Johnson 1, Koby Walters 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Taylor Velasquez (Turpin, OK) 856, 2. Luke Cranston (Ness City, KS) 845, 3. Brian Herbert (Dodge City, KS) 811, 4. Mike Peters (Wichita, KS) 810, 5. Tyler Knight (Spearville, KS) 796, 6. Koby Walters (Liberal, KS) 735, 7. Kris Moore (Dodge City, KS) 706, 8. Jordan Knight (Wright, KS) 678, 9. Cody Lampe (Jetmore, KS) 629, 10. Kade Hagans (Lacrosse, KS) 528.


IMCA Modifieds: 

Consistency has been the name of the game for Nick Link with four top-fives and six top-tens in seven starts enough to give the Rolla racer a 56-point edge with six nights of action remaining beginning with Saturday’s card.

The next seven drivers in points are separated by just 36 points with Kevin Gray atop the pack in the battle for second and awaiting one Link stumble to contend for the lead.

Feature Winners: Cole Traugott 3, Cody Gearhart 1, Mike Lunow 1, William Nusser 1, Clay Sellard 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Nick Link (Rolla, KS) 912, 2. Kevin Gray (Ulysses, KS) 856, 3. (tie) Ryan Heger (Hugoton, KS) and Kale Beavers (Pierceville, KS) 840, 5. William Nusser (Larned, KS) 836, 6. Joel Lane (Ulysses, KS) 835, 7. Trent Gray (Ulysses, KS) 825, 9. Tom Beavers (Pierceville, KS) 788, 10. Jesse Smith (Dodge City, KS) 773.


IMCA Sport Modifieds: 

The Sport Mods are ridden with parity as 16 different drivers have reached victory lane in the last 18 events with only three-time and reigning track champ Jeff Kaup and Mike Roach able to repeat in that span of races since May of 2015.

With a half dozen events remaining for the Sport Modifieds, Kevin Tabor is just 15 points ahead of Brian May with Kaup back to within 33 points of the lead after a pair of rough nights earlier in the season.

Feature Winners: Jeff Kaup 2, Daylon Bergeron 1, Daren Hacker 1, Mike Roach 1, Jeremy Sigler 1, Dakota Sproul 1, Toby Witthuhn 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Kevin Tabor (Dodge City, KS) 1,075, 2. Brian May (Spearville, KS) 1,060, 3. Jeff Kaup (Woodward, OK) 1,042, 4. Kyle Wiens (Newton, KS) 1,002, 5. Alex Wiens (Newton, KS) 939, 6. Bart Baker (Dodge City, KS) 918, 7. Jamie French (Hugoton, KS) 875, 8. Mike Appel (Dodge City, KS) 787, 9. Toby Witthuhn (Garden City, KS) 770, 10. Tanner Brunson (Minneola, KS) 765.


IMCA Stock Cars: 

Gunning for a second consecutive track championship, Michael Pepper has reeled off three wins in the last four events to open up 67 points worth of breathing room over Marlin Hogie.

Feature Winners: Michael Pepper 4, Angel Munoz 1, Jason Rogers 1, Tyler Tipton 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Michael Pepper (Lakin, KS) 999, 2. Marlin Hogie (Ulysses, KS) 932, 3. Chris Oliver (Holcomb, KS) 925, 4. Brett Copeland (Fowler, KS) 770, 5. Angel Munoz (Lamar, CO) 433, 6. Dusty Witthuhn (Bazine, KS) 418, 7. Tyler Tipton (Weskan, KS) 413, 8. Cody Zimmerman (Dighton, KS) 403, 9. Kyle Pfeifer (Hill City, KS) 286, 10. Ron Hartman (Ulysses, KS) 273.


IMCA Hobby Stocks: 

Also vying for a second straight DCRP title, Cody Davis recaptured the points lead from Matt O’Hair after racing to his third win of the season last Saturday.

With six Hobby Stock nights remaining, Davis is just five points ahead of O’Hair with Bryan Habiger 53 points off the lead pace in third.

Feature Winners: Cody Davis 3, Matt O’Hair 2, Reagan Sellard 2, Shannon Anderson 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Cody Davis (Bucklin, KS) 1,116, 2. Matt O’Hair (Laverne, OK) 1,111, 3. Bryan Habiger (Ingalls, KS) 1,063, 4. Tyler Walker (Dighton, KS) 982, 5. Tom Reed (Kalvesta, KS) 972, 6. Jacob Huse (Kinsley, KS) 969, 7. Reagan Sellard (Bucklin, KS) 968, 8. Tobby Schield (Sublette, KS) 901, 9. Duane Wahrman (Pratt, KS) 841, 10. Michael Penrod (Moscow, KS) 672.


Tickets to Saturday’s DCRP championship chase action presented by H&H Roofing of Larned, KS, are just $10 for adults with children eleven and under admitted free when accompanied by an adult. Pit passes are $30.

Information regarding H&H Roofing is available at

The complete 2016 schedule of events at Dodge City Raceway Park is available at

Dodge City Raceway Park is located on the south edge of Dodge City, KS, on US 283, then 0.9 miles west on US 56, then 0.1 miles south. For more information, contact the track at 620-225-3277 or check