URSS vs DCRP Sprint Cars this Saturday, May 26 - Green flag flies at 7:30 p.m.!
RSS Twitter Facebook YouTube

Holiday Inn Express & Suites is Official Lodging Partner of Dodge City Raceway Park; Guymon Petro and Fort Dodge RV Camping Resort Partner as Well

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (May 23, 2018) – Making your way to Dodge City Raceway Park for this weekend’s big URSS vs. DCRP Sprint Car Clash?  Or perhaps the upcoming United States Modified Touring Series debut at DCRP... Continue »
sprintaction050518 980

Sprint Car Clash Saturday at DCRP!

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (May 22, 2018) – Memorial Day weekend is traditionally a monumental weekend for auto racing in America. This weekend will be no exception at Dodge City Raceway Park, as the United Rebel Sprint Series... Continue »
Brendon Gemmill DCRP Win IMCA Modified 051918 980

Brendon Gemmill Snares DCRP Modified Stampede Glory as Cranston, Elliott, Maddox & Wahrman also Post Wins!

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (May 19, 2018) – Brendon Gemmill made a dramatic, late move to take the $750 winner’s share in Saturday night’s 25-lap Sixth Annual Modified Stampede atop the 3/8-mile Dodge City Raceway Park clay oval.... Continue »
sportmods050518 980

Breaking Out of the Gates Quickly – DCRP Championship Round Two on Saturday

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (May 18, 2018) – Bursting out of the gates quickly is a key component to putting together a championship season at Dodge City Raceway Park. And after a rousing opening night on May 5,... Continue »
knight&herbert050518 980

Lubbock Wrecker Service DCRP 305 Sprint Car Nationals Rapidly Approaching

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (May 17, 2018) – The countdown is well under way. The Second Annual Lubbock Wrecker Service DCRP 305 Sprint Car Nationals is now less than one month away. The $3,000-to-win event at the state-of-the-art... Continue »

One More Night at DCRP in 2016

14 September 2016 | Featured News | |    

crowdmods072916-980Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (September 14, 2016) – One more night of competition is all that remains on the 2016 slate of action at the 3/8-mile Dodge City Raceway Park in southwest Kansas.

And that takes place next Saturday night, September 24, with the Fourth Annual Jerry Soderberg Memorial Championship event.

The September 24 finale will bring the curtain down on an action-packed season that has included 15 previous nights of action building up to the conclusion that will crown five track champions in the track’s divisions of Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars, IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sport Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars and IMCA Hobby Stocks.

Racing at the Fourth Annual Jerry Soderberg Memorial Championship event will get under way at 7:00 p.m.

While Taylor Velasquez (DCRP Sprint Cars), Kevin Tabor (IMCA Sport Modifieds), Michael Pepper (IMCA Stock Cars) and Matt O’Hair (IMCA Hobby Stocks) each take relatively healthy point leads into the finale, the IMCA Modified crown is very much up for grabs with only nine points separating the top three in points.

Taking the points lead for the first time this year, Ryan Heger takes a nine-point lead into the finale over previous leader Nick Link and William Nusser, who are tied for second. Heger can secure at least a share of the title with a finish of third or better, with a finish any lower opening the door for either Link or Nusser to possibly snare the title.

Heger won the inaugural IMCA Modified portion of the Jerry Soderberg Memorial Championship event in 2013 with Jesse Richter and Brendon Gemmill topping ensuing rounds.

In the Sprint Car ranks, Taylor Velasquez will try to put the icing on the championship cake by taking a third consecutive Soderberg Memorial event after topping the previous two in 2014 and 2015.

In addition to Velasquez, the only other driver to post multiple Soderberg Memorial wins is IMCA Stock Car shoe Ron Hartman with wins in the initial two editions in 2013 and 2014 before Angel Munoz won last year. For Hartman to make it three-for-four, he’ll have to somehow find a way to stop Michael Pepper’s six-race winning streak.

The Soderberg Memorial has offered up three previous different winners in both the IMCA Sport Modified and IMCA Hobby Stock (previously Thunder Car) ranks. Jamie French topped IMCA Sport Modifieds after Nate Ginest and Josh Appel took previous wins while Reagan Sellard scored IMCA Hobby Stock honors last year after Cody Davis and Dan Rogers topped earlier rounds.

General admission for the September 24 Fourth Annual Jerry Soderberg Memorial Championship event is just $20 with children 11 and under admitted free when accompanied by an adult.

Past Jerry Soderberg Memorial Championship Winners:

2015 – Taylor Velasquez (DCRP vs. URSS Sprint Cars), Brendon Gemmill (IMCA Modifieds), Jamie French (IMCA Sport Modifieds), Angel Munoz (IMCA Stock Cars), Reagan Sellard (IMCA Hobby Stocks).

2014 – Taylor Velasquez (URSS Sprint Cars), Jesse Richter (IMCA Modifieds), Nate Ginest (IMCA Sport Modifieds), Ron Hartman (IMCA Stock Cars), Cody Davis (Thunder Cars), Jarett Lunow (Hornets).

2013 – Zach Blurton (URSS Sprint Cars), Ryan Heger (IMCA Modifieds), Josh Appel (IMCA Sport Modifieds), Ron Hartman (IMCA Stock Cars), Dan Rogers (Thunder Cars), James Phelps (Hornets).


The complete 2016 schedule of events at Dodge City Raceway Park is available at http://www.dodgecityraceway.com/schedule/.

Dodge City Raceway Park is located on the south edge of Dodge City, KS, on US 283, then 0.9 miles west on US 56, then 0.1 miles south. For more information, contact the track at 620-225-3277 or check www.dodgecityraceway.com.