Thanks for a great 2017 season - see everyone in 2018!
RSS Twitter Facebook YouTube
Banquet Action

Last Call for DCRP Awards Banquet Tickets

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (January 17, 2018) – Dodge City Raceway Park fans, racers and crew members can enjoy an evening filled with food, music and awards at the Saturday, January 27, DCRP Awards Banquet. The festivities will... Continue »
Cover 980

LIMITED EDITION: 2018 DCRP Wall Calendars!

DODGE CITY, Kan. (December 26, 2017) – Available now: LIMITED RELEASE of 2018 Dodge City Raceway Park calendars! These 11.5” x 14.5” (22.5” by 14.5” when opened) wall calendars commemorating all the exciting racing action at Dodge City Raceway... Continue »
Jeff Kaup IMCA Sport Mod 980

Dodge City Raceway Park Crowns Five Champions in 2017

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (December 21, 2017) – Another year of white-knuckle racing action atop the 3/8-mile Dodge City Raceway Park clay oval in 2017 culminated with a handful of drivers earning track championships. Ten intense nights of... Continue »

Dodge City Raceway Park Releases Action Packed 2018 Schedule

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (December 8, 2017) – Outlaws, enduros, USMTS, coaches, scintillating championship battles and more are in store for 2018 as Dodge City Raceway Park released its slate of events for next season. Following an open... Continue »
Banquet Plaques 980

DCRP Awards Banquet Set for January 27

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (December 6, 2017) – With another exhilarating racing season in the books at the state-of-the-art Dodge City Raceway Park in southwest Kansas, all that remains is the annual awards banquet. The top 2017 competitors... Continue »

The DCRP Title Chases!

26 August 2016 | Featured News | |    

velasquez040916 980Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (August 26, 2016) – Two more nights is all that remains of the 2016 racing season at Dodge City Raceway Park.

All five championship chase divisions hit the track Saturday night with a $1,000 winner’s share up for grabs in the Third Annual Sport Modified Mayhem event.

From there, all that remains Fourth Annual Jerry Soderberg Memorial Championship event on Saturday night, September 24.

Five championships are still on the line with Taylor Velasquez, Nick Link, Kevin Tabor, Michael Pepper and Matt O’Hair leading the way into Saturday night’s action with several of the chases still very much up for grabs.

A look at this year’s title chases… 

Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars: 

Two wins in a row since the Boothill Showdown and four on the season has Taylor Velasquez back atop the point charts. But not by much though, as defending track champ Luke Cranston is just four points off the lead pace going into Saturday’s action.

Feature Winners: Taylor Velasquez 4, Luke Cranston 2, Brian Herbert 1, C.J. Johnson 1, Jason Martin 1, Koby Walters 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Taylor Velasquez (Turpin, OK) 1,427, 2. Luke Cranston (Ness City, KS) 1,423, 3. Mike Peters (Wichita, KS) 1,368, 4. Brian Herbert (Dodge City, KS) 1,245, 5. Tyler Knight (Spearville, KS) 1,243, 6. Koby Walters (Liberal, KS) 1,170, 7. Kris Moore (Dodge City, KS) 1,167, 8. Jordan Knight (Wright, KS) 1,152, 9. Cody Lampe (Jetmore, KS) 968, 10. Tracey Hill (Liberal, KS) 948.


IMCA Modifieds:

The battle for the top spot keeps getting tighter in the Modified ranks. Twenty-three points separated Nick Link from his rivals last time out. Now, only 20 points separate the top three with Link just ten points ahead of William Nusser and then Ryan Heger another ten points back. The pressure is building…

Feature Winners: Cole Traugott 4, Brendon Gemmill 2, Cody Gearhart 1, Mike Lunow 1, William Nusser 1, Clay Sellard 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Nick Link (Rolla, KS) 1,263 2. William Nusser (Larned, KS) 1,253, 3. Ryan Heger (Hugoton, KS) 1,243, 4. Joel Lane (Ulysses, KS) 1,211, 5. Kale Beavers (Pierceville, KS) 1,206, 6. Mike Lunow (Dodge City, KS) 1,185, 7. Tom Beavers (Pierceville, KS) 1,161, 8. Tracy Link (Rolla, KS) 1,138, 9. Jesse Smith (Dodge City, KS) 1,113, 10. Jack Kirchoff (Garden City, KS) 1,088.


IMCA Sport Modifieds:

The battle wages on along the Sport Mod Mason-Dixon line with Northern rep Kevin Tabor extending his lead 51 points over defending champ Jeff Kaup, who may have suffered a critical blow to his defense with a DNF last time out on July 29.

Plenty of invaders are to be expected for Mayhem with Woodward’s Mike Roach the defending winner after Penokee, KS, shoe Clay Money topped the inaugural version.

Feature Winners: Jeff Kaup 4, Daylon Bergeron 1, Robert Elliott 1, Daren Hacker 1, Mike Roach 1, Jeremy Sigler 1, Dakota Sproul 1, Toby Witthuhn 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Kevin Tabor (Dodge City, KS) 1,497, 2. Jeff Kaup (Woodward, OK) 1,446, 3. Kyle Wiens (Newton, KS) 1,401, 4. Brian May (Spearville, KS) 1,361, 5. Alex Wiens (Newton, KS) 1,312, 6. Bart Baker (Dodge City, KS) 1,191, 7. Jamie French (Hugoton, KS) 1,120, 8. Toby Witthuhn (Garden City, KS) 1,043, 9. Jeremy Sigler (Great Bend, KS) 930, 10. Tanner Brunson (Minneola, KS) 883.


IMCA Stock Cars:

The doctor is in command, with defending champ Michael Pepper riding a five-race win streak that has pushed his season total to seven triumphs and extended his points lead to 96 markers over Marlin Hogie.

Feature Winners: Michael Pepper 7, Angel Munoz 1, Jason Rogers 1, Tyler Tipton 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Michael Pepper (Lakin, KS) 1,449, 2. Marlin Hogie (Ulysses, KS) 1,353, 3. Chris Oliver (Holcomb, KS) 1,339, 4. Brett Copeland (Fowler, KS) 1,184, 5. Dusty Witthuhn (Bazine, KS) 691, 6. Shannon Maughlin (Dighton, KS) 596, 7. Ryan Grubbs 522, 8. Kyle Pfeifer (Hill City, KS) 481, 9. Angel Munoz (Lamar, CO) 433, 10. Ron Hartman (Ulysses, KS) 418.


IMCA Hobby Stocks: 

Laverne’s Matt O’Hair picked off his third win of the year last time out on July 29 to take command of the points race with a 78-point advantage over secret agent 007 Bryan Habiger.

Feature Winners: Cody Davis 3, Matt O’Hair 3, Reagan Sellard 2, Shannon Anderson 1, David Berger 1, Bryan Habiger 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Matt O’Hair (Laverne, OK) 1,537, 2. Bryan Habiger (Ingalls, KS) 1,459, 3. Duane Wahrman (Pratt, KS) 1, 403, 4. (tie) Cody Davis (Bucklin, KS) and Reagan Sellard (Bucklin, KS) 1,389, 6. Tom Reed (Kalvesta, KS) 1,365, 7. Tyler Walker (Dighton, KS) 1,349, 8. Jacob Huse (Kinsley, KS) 1,344, 9. David Berger (Dodge City, KS) 993, 10. Tobby Schield (Sublette, KS) 901.


General admission for Saturday’s Third Annual Sport Modified Mayhem event is just $15 with children 11 and under admitted free when accompanied by an adult.

The complete 2016 schedule of events at Dodge City Raceway Park is available at

Dodge City Raceway Park is located on the south edge of Dodge City, KS, on US 283, then 0.9 miles west on US 56, then 0.1 miles south. For more information, contact the track at 620-225-3277 or check