Championship Chase Night One on Saturday, May 5!
RSS Twitter Facebook YouTube
DCRP Rain 060317

Inclement Weather Postpones Modified Stampede at DCRP

DODGE CITY, Kan. (April 19, 2018) – Mother Nature continues her domination of Dodge City Raceway Park in 2018 with Saturday’s scheduled event atop the 3/8-mile clay oval in southwest Kansas postponed due to inclement weather. With forecasts of... Continue »
mods052817 980

DCRP Opens Season with April 21 Modified Stampede

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (April 11, 2018) – After a pair of foiled attempts to get the 2018 racing season under way, Dodge City Raceway Park will kick things off in style with the Sixth Annual Modified Stampede... Continue »

Dismal Weather Conditions Stops DCRP Again

DODGE CITY, Kan. (April 6, 2018) – For the second weekend in a row, unfavorable weather conditions have forced the postponement of the season opening event atop the 3/8-mile Dodge City Raceway Park clay oval in southwest Kansas. Expected... Continue »
DCRP Rain 060317

DCRP Season Opener Postponed by Inclement Weather – Reset for April 7

DODGE CITY, Kan. (March 29, 2018) – The season will open at Dodge City Raceway Park another seven days later, as Saturday night’s scheduled event atop the 3/8-mile clay oval has been postponed due to forecasts of bone-chilling weather.... Continue »

Saturday Practice Precedes DCRP Season Opener!

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (March 21, 2018) – Activity is picking up around the Dodge City Raceway Park 3/8-mile clay oval with opening night just ten days away. But first, an Open Practice session is on tap for... Continue »

Title Chases Up for Grabs

20 May 2016 | Featured News | |    

may&tabor050716 980Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (May 20, 2016) – Up for grabs. It’s the only way to describe the 2016 Dodge City Raceway Park championship chases with the initial four nights of the season in the books.

With ties for the lead in two divisions, the only current lead exceeding single digits is Michael Pepper’s 13-point Stock Car advantage.

The points could shake out some on Saturday night as action continues at 7:30 p.m. with a full card of Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars, IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sport Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars and IMCA Hobby Stocks.

Leading the way into the night are Taylor Velasquez in DCRP Sprint Cars, Cody Gearhart in IMCA Modifieds and Michael Pepper in IMCA Stock Cars with Brian May and Kevin Tabor tied for the lead in IMCA Sport Modifieds and Cody Davis and Matt O’Hair deadlocked atop the IMCA Hobby Stock point charts.


Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars: 

The Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars get back it for the first time April 23 when Koby Walters became the third different winner in as many events this year and seventh consecutive different winner dating back to June of last year.

Winner of last year’s season finale, Taylor Velasquez holds a six-point edge over Tyler Knight with only 19 points separating the top five.

Feature Winners: Brian Herbert 1, C.J. Johnson 1, Koby Walters 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Taylor Velasquez (Turpin, OK) 418, 2. Tyler Knight (Spearville, KS) 412, 3. Luke Cranston (Ness City, KS) 409, 4. Brian Herbert (Dodge City, KS) 408, 5. Mike Peters (Wichita, KS) 399, 6. Tracey Hill (Liberal, KS) 372, 7. Koby Walters (Liberal, KS) 370, 8. Steven Richardson (Liberal, KS) 348, 9. (tie) Kris Moore (Dodge City, KS) and Jordan Knight (Wright, KS) 326.


IMCA Modifieds: 

Just as in the Sprint Car ranks, a Turpin, OK, driver leads the way into the weekend with Cody Gearhart a single point ahead of Nick Link with Ryan Heger just 16 points of the lead pace.

Cole Traugott has taken two of the last three feature wins.

Feature Winners: Cole Traugott 2, Cody Gearhart 1, William Nusser 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Cody Gearhart (Turpin, OK) 523, 2. Nick Link (Rolla, KS) 522, 3. Ryan Heger (Hugoton, KS) 507, 4. Kale Beavers (Pierceville, KS) 487, 5. Kevin Gray (Ulysses, KS) 485, 6. Jack Kirchoff (Garden City, KS) 481, 7. Joel Lane (Ulysses, KS) 475, 8. William Nusser (Larned, KS) 463, 9. Trent Gray (Ulysses, KS) 462, 10. Mike Lunow (Dodge City, KS) 452.


IMCA Sport Modifieds: 

After winning two of the first three events, heat race problems for Jeff Kaup last time out opened up the chase for Sport Mod honors.

Kevin Tabor and Brian May are knotted atop the point charts with Kaup now 22 points off the lead pace as he guns for a fourth consecutive track championship.

Feature Winners: Jeff Kaup 2, Daren Hacker 1, Dakota Sproul 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. (tie) Kevin Tabor (Dodge City, KS) and Brian May (Spearville, KS) 538, 3. Jeff Kaup (Woodward, OK) 516, 4. Kyle Wiens (Newton, KS) 501, 5. Adam Stenzel (Hays, KS) 491, 6. Mike Appel (Dodge City, KS) 475, 7. Alex Wiens (Newton, KS) 462, 8. Tanner Brunson (Minneola, KS) 415, 9. (tie) Bart Baker (Dodge City, KS) and Toby Witthuhn (Garden City, KS) 393.


IMCA Stock Cars: 

Defending champ Michael Pepper is atop the Stock Car point charts for the first time this year, taking a 13 point advantage into Saturday’s action.

Feature Winners: Michael Pepper 1, Jason Rogers 1, Tyler Tipton 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Michael Pepper (Lakin, KS) 426, 2. Tyler Tipton (Weskan, KS) 413, 3. Marlin Hogie (Ulysses, KS) 385, 4. Chris Oliver (Holcomb, KS) 369, 5. Kyle Pfeifer (Hill City, KS) 286, 6. Angel Munoz (Lamar, CO) 283, 7. Dusty Witthuhn (Bazine, KS) 273, 8. Ondre Rexford (Montezuma, KS) 245, 9. Shannon Maughlin (Dighton, KS) 238, 10. Brett Copeland (Fowler, KS) 236.


IMCA Hobby Stocks: 

Four of 14 scheduled races in the books has produced four different winners and a tie atop the point charts between defending champ Cody Davis and Matt O’Hair with Bryan Habiger making a big jump from sixth to third (just 14 points out of the lead) after a DCRP-best runner-up finish last time out.

Feature Winners: Shannon Anderson 1, Cody Davis 1, Matt O’Hair 1, Reagan Sellard 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Cody Davis (Bucklin, KS) and Matt O’Hair (Laverne, OK) 552, 3. Bryan Habiger (Ingalls, KS) 538, 4. Reagan Sellard (Bucklin, KS) 536, 5. Tobby Schield (Sublette, KS) 528, 6. Michael Penrod (Moscow, KS) 483, 7. Danny Schulte (Dodge City, KS) 477, 8. Tyler Walker (Dighton, KS) 468, 9. Tom Reed (Kalvesta, KS) 462, 10. Jacob Huse (Kinsley, KS) 458.


Tickets to Saturday’s championship chase action at Dodge City Raceway Park are just $15 for adults with children eleven and under admitted free when accompanied by an adult.

The complete 2016 schedule of events at Dodge City Raceway Park is available at

Dodge City Raceway Park is located on the south edge of Dodge City, KS, on US 283, then 0.9 miles west on US 56, then 0.1 miles south. For more information, contact the track at 620-225-3277 or check