Breaking Out of the Gates Quickly – DCRP Championship Round Two on Saturday

Breaking Out of the Gates Quickly – DCRP Championship Round Two on Saturday

May 18, 2018 0 By admin

sportmods050518 980Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (May 18, 2018) – Bursting out of the gates quickly is a key component to putting together a championship season at Dodge City Raceway Park.

And after a rousing opening night on May 5, championship round two is set for Saturday night with the $750-to-win Sixth Annual Modified Stampede headlining the card that also includes Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars, IMCA Sport Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars and IMCA Hobby Stocks.

Brian Herbert, Kevin Gray, Jeff Kaup, Troy Burkhart and Duane Wahrman broke out the quickest in their respective divisions with opening night wins just two weeks ago.

While an opening night win isn’t imperative on the road to the title, it certainly doesn’t hurt as two of last year’s eventual five champions won on opening night including Jeff Kaup and Angel Munoz.

And finishing among the top five in the opener seems to be a strong indicator as to potential championship contenders with 23 of 27 champions (85.2%) over the past six years finishing among the top five in the opening round of competition.  Just one champion last year finished outside the top five with IMCA Modified champ Clay Sellard finishing sixth.

Tickets for Saturday’s Sixth Annual Modified Stampede are just $15 for adults while children 11 and under are admitted free when accompanied by an adult.  Pit passes are $30.  Racing action is set to get under way at 7:30 p.m.

Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars:

Brian Herbert picked off his second opening night over the last three years by topping the May 5 event after Tyler Knight surrendered the point when a left front tire went sailing. Herbert was seventh in points last year while two-time and defending champ Taylor Velasquez opened the season with a fourth-place run.

Feature Winners: Brian Herbert 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Brian Herbert 150, 2. Ray Seemann 145, 3. J.D. Johnson 141, 4. Taylor Velasquez 138, 5. Tracey Hill 135, 6. Ty Williams 132, 7. Luke Cranston 129, 8. Koby Walters 126, 9. Steven Richardson 123, 10. Jordan Knight 120.

IMCA Modifieds:

Fourth in last year’s points, Ulysses’ Kevin Gray opened the season in triumphant fashion ahead of R.C. Whitwell and Joel Lane.  Gray looks to make it two in a row in Saturday’s Modified Stampede after notching his first DCRP score since August of 2015.

Feature Winners: Kevin Gray 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Kevin Gray 150, 2. R.C. Whitwell 145, 3. Joel Lane 141, 4. Kale Beavers 138, 5. Jack Kirchoff 135, 6. Nick Link 132, 7. William Nusser 129, 8. Mike Lunow 126, 9. Rick Taylor 123, 10. Travis Simmons 120.

IMCA Sport Modifieds:

Woodward’s Jeff Kaup opened last year with a win en route to his fourth DCRP championship over the last five years and picked up another opening night win on May 5.  Kaup has 17 DCRP wins to his credit since the 2012 season.

Feature Winners: Jeff Kaup 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Jeff Kaup 150, 2. Toby Witthuhn 145, 3. Brian May 141, 4. Daylon Bergeron 138, 5. Bart Baker 135, 6. Kyle Wiens 132, 7. Brandon Wise 129, 8. Alex Wiens 126, 9. Kohl Ricke 123, 10. Joey Maupin 120.

IMCA Stock Cars:

Showing no rust from an extended stay away from the driver’s seat, Hays’ Troy Burkhart fought off Ron Hartman and Shannon Maughlin to win the May 5 opener.

Feature Winners: Troy Burkhart 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Troy Burkhart 150, 2. Ron Hartman 145, 3. Shannon Maughlin 141, 4. Dusty Witthuhn 138, 5. Travis Baird 135, 6. Ondre Rexford 132, 7. Steve Bunk 129, 8. Will Bauer 126, 9. Marlin Hogie 123, 10. Tyler Walker 120.

IMCA Hobby Stocks:

Duane Wahrman finished off the 2017 season in victory lane and opened up 2018 the same way by taking the checkered flag ahead of defending champ Reagan Sellard.  Wahrman looks to climb one spot higher in the final tally after falling just ten points shy of Sellard in the 2017 chase.

Feature Winners: Duane Wahrman 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Duane Wahrman 150, 2. Reagan Sellard 145, 3. Dan Rogers 141, 4. Tathan Burkhart 138, 5. Matt O’Hair 135, 6. Chad Kelley 132, 7. Brett Copeland 129, 8. Mike Davis 126, 9. Tom Reed 123, 10. Garrett Hagar 120.


The complete Sixth Annual Modified Stampede feature payout is as follows:  1st – $750, 2nd – $600, 3rd – $500, 4th – $450, 5th – $400, 6th – $350, 7th – $300, 8th – $275, 9th – $250, 10th – $225, 11th – $200, 12th – $190, 13th – $180, 14th – $170, 15th – $150, 16th – $150, 17th – $150, 18th – $150, 19th – $150, 20th – $150.

In total, the 2018 season at Dodge City Raceway Park is slated for 17 nights of action, culminating with the return of the World of Outlaws Sprint Cars on Saturday night, October 20.

The complete 2018 schedule of events at Dodge City Raceway Park is available at

Dodge City Raceway Park is located on the south edge of Dodge City, KS, on US 283, then 0.9 miles west on US 56, then 0.1 miles south.  For more information, contact the track at 620-225-3277 or check