Championship Saturday Night at DCRP!

September 13, 2019 0 By admin

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (September 13, 2019) – It all comes down to Saturday night atop the 3/8-mile Dodge City Raceway Park clay oval in southwest Kansas.

Saturday’s Seventh Annual Jerry Soderberg Memorial Championship will determine the five DCRP track champions for 2019 along with the balance of the top ten in each division.

Leading the way into Saturday’s action and looking to secure titles are Luke Cranston, William Nusser, Jeff Kaup, Angel Munoz and Reagan Sellard.

Saturday’s racing action gets under way at 7:30 p.m.

Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars: 

The DCRP Sprint Cars square off with the URSS ranks in the season finale.  Current points leader Luke Cranston has topped a pair of previous events in tandem with URSS atop the DCRP clay with Jake Bubak sweeping the three-night DCRP 305 Sprint Car Nationals.  With three overall wins on the season, Cranston can secure the crown by simply showing up.  There are plenty of battles in his wake though with two-time winner Jeremy Huish just 19 points ahead of 2018 champ Steven Richardson in the race for second and only one point separating Jordan Knight and rookie contender Kyler Johnson in the battle for fourth.

Feature Winners: Jake Bubak 3, Luke Cranston 3, Jeremy Huish 2, Brian Herbert 1, Steven Richardson 1, Taylor Velasquez 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Luke Cranston 1,547, 2. Jeremy Huish 1,444, 3. Steven Richardson 1,425, 4. Jordan Knight 1,328, 5. Kyler Johnson 1,327, 6. Tyler Knight 1,284, 7. Ray Seemann 1,244, 8. Ross Essenburg 1,207, 9. Brian Herbert 1,148, 10. Kris Moore 1,035.


IMCA Modifieds: 

Larned’s William Nusser is one night away from securing the championship, but Trent Gray and Clay Sellard are both still well within striking distance.  Nusser cant’ be knocked off the top rung with a finish of sixth or better.  Anything less, and the door opens for his chasers.

Feature Winners: Clay Sellard 3, Brendon Gemmill 2, Clay Money 2, Tom Beavers 1, Troy Gemmill 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. William Nusser 1,158, 2. Trent Gray 1,138, 3. Clay Sellard 1,124, 4. Jesse Smith 1,107, 5. Ryan Heger 992, 6. Derrick Dechant 873, 7. Ryan Keller 849, 8. Kevin Gray 844, 9. Nick Link 803, 10. Tom Beavers 746.


IMCA Sport Modifieds: 

Taking the green flag in Saturday night’s feature will secure Woodward’s Jeff Kaup a sixth track title in seven years while Brian May tries to fend off Bart Baker for second.  Kaup has racked up 20 DCRP wins since the onset of the 2012 season.

Feature Winners:  Dakota Sproul 3, Jeff Kaup 2, Travis Burger 1, Robert Elliott 1, Ryan Kirchoff 1, Mike Lunow 1, Alex Wiens 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Jeff Kaup 1,393, 2. Brian May 1,328, 3. Bart Baker 1,296, 4. Mike Lunow 1,274, 5. Kyle Wiens 1,017, 6. Alex Wiens 980, 7. Ryan Kirchoff 875, 8. Kent Lampe 743, 9. Dakota Sproul 733, 10. Mike Appel 628.


IMCA Stock Cars: 

Six for ten in the win column, Angel Munoz wraps up the title with a Saturday night feature start that keeps Chris Oliver out of striking distance.  Munoz has compiled a DCRP-best 21 feature wins since 2012.

Feature Winners: Angel Munoz 6, Kyle Pfeifer 3, Mike Petersilie 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Angel Munoz 1,437, 2. Chris Oliver 1,367, 3. Donald Kaup 1,263, 4. Marlin Hogie 1,233, 5. Ondre Rexford 1,185, 6. Gerald Walker 995, 7. Troy Burkhart 930, 8. Tyler Walker 861, 9. Mike Petersilie 841, 10. Josh Siebert 686. 


IMCA Hobby Stocks: 

Reagan Sellard breathes easiest going into Saturday’s finale with a third consecutive track championship locked up.  Sellard and Tathan Burkhart have monopolized Hobby Stock victory lane at DCRP this year by combining for nine of ten wins.

Feature Winners: Tathan Burkhart 5, Reagan Sellard 4, Duane Wahrman 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Reagan Sellard 1,425, 2. Skeets Salazar 1,255, 3. Sheri Berger 1,186, 4. Brett Copeland 1,139, 5. Tom Reed 1,112, 6. Dion Priddy 1,089, 7. Tathan Burkhart 1,018, 8. Brian Thomas 993, 9. Matt O’Hair 977, 10. Derrick Sprott 865.


General admission for Saturday’s Seventh Annual Jerry Soderberg Memorial Championship at DCRP is just $15 with children 11 and under admitted free when accompanied by an adult.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dodge City located at 201 4th Avenue is the official lodging partner of Dodge City Raceway Park.  Race fans staying at the Holiday Inn & Suites Dodge City will want to request the special DCRP rate for their visit when making reservations. Contact the Holiday Inn Express at 620-225-1000.

In total, the 2019 season atop the 3/8-mile Dodge City Raceway Park clay oval is slated for 18 nights of action along with another eight Sunday cards atop the newly-constructed 1/7-mile Little DCRP clay oval.

The complete slate of 2019 events at DCRP is available at

Dodge City Raceway Park is located on the south edge of Dodge City, KS, on US 283, then 0.9 miles west on US 56, then 0.1 miles south.  For more information, contact the track at 620-225-3277 or check