DCRP Championship Chase Round Three on Sunday!

DCRP Championship Chase Round Three on Sunday!

May 27, 2017 0 By admin

wahrman&sellard 980 050617Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (May 27, 2017) – It’s the early rounds of the title fights at Dodge City Raceway Park, but every round is critical.

The third round of action unfolds on Sunday night atop the 3/8-mile clay oval with Lewis Automotive Night featuring the Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars, IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sport Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars and IMCA Hobby Stocks all in action with the first green flag of the night set to fly at 7:30 p.m.  It is Military Appreciation night as well with Military personnel and dependents admitted free.

Through the initial pair of events, Ty Williams (Sprint Cars), Cole Traugott (Modifieds) and Angel Munoz (Stock Cars) have each gone two-for-two to stake themselves to early point leads with three-time Sport Mod track champ Jeff Kaup holding an early advantage and Duane Wahrman holding a mere one-point lead in the Hobby Stock ranks.

Tickets for Sunday’s Lewis Automotive Night honoring the Military are just $15 for adults with children 11 and under admitted free when accompanied by an adult.  A pair of bicycles will also be awarded to two fortunate children.

Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars:

After winning the season-opener in the final pair of corners, Ty Williams bypassed the drama by wiring the field last time out to make it two in a row.  Still, his lead is at just 14 points over defending champ Taylor Velasquez, who has finished second and third in the opening two rounds of action.

Feature Winners: Ty Williams 2.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Ty Williams (Arcadia, OK) 300, 2. Taylor Velasquez (Turpin, OK) 286, 3. Koby Walters (Liberal, KS) 270, 4. Brian Herbert (Dodge City, KS) 264, 5. Ray Seemann (Jetmore, KS) 258, 6. Jordan Knight (Wright, KS) 251, 7. Steven Richardson (Liberal, KS) 249, 8. (tie) Tyler Knight (Spearville, KS), Brandy Jones and Kris Moore (Dodge City, KS) 246.


IMCA Modifieds:

The last eight times Cole Traugott has made the 120-mile journey from Woodard, OK, to DCRP, he has ended his night in victory lane including the opening pair of events this season to open up an early 23-point edge over Clay Sellard.  Sellard chased Traugott to the stripe in the May 6 Modified Stampede.

Feature Winners: Cole Traugott 2.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Cole Traugott (Woodward, OK) 300, 2. Clay Sellard (Bucklin, KS) 277, 3. David Murray (Oberlin, KS) 276, 4. Randy Wilson (Wichita, KS) 270, 5. Ryan Heger (Hugoton, KS) 246, 6. Dale Wanger (Ft. Supply, OK) 239, 7. Kevin Gray (Ulysses, KS) 230, 8. Mike Lunow (Dodge City, KS) 222, 9. Kale Beavers (Pierceville, KS) 220, 10. Tanner Black (Mohave Valley, AZ) 213.


IMCA Sport Modifieds:

Brian Davidson has led the majority of feature laps during the first two rounds of action, but it’s three-time track champ Jeff Kaup leading the way in points after an opening night win and a late surge to finish second on May 6.  Nine points back, Davidson has settled for finishes of second and third after being so tantalizingly close to triumph.

Feature Winners: Brian Davidson 1, Dakota Sproul 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Jeff Kaup (Woodward, OK) 295, 2. Brian Davidson (Delphos, KS) 286, 3. Alex Wiens (Newton, KS) 261, 4. Kyle Wiens (Newton, KS) 255, 5. Kohl Ricke (Spearville, KS) 247, 6. Dan Rogers (Buffalo, OK) 242, 7. Tanner Brunson (Minneola, KS) 234, 8. Jarett Lunow (Dodge City, KS) 232, 9. Joey Maupin (Dodge City, KS) 226, 10. Skyler Wissman (Ellinwood, KS) 225.


IMCA Stock Cars:

After topping the season opener, Angel Munoz slipped by two-time and reigning track champ Michael Pepper in the last corner to make it two in a row on May 6.  Munoz is 17 points ahead of Pepper in the early going with elder Pepper, Jack, another 15 points back in third.

Feature Winners: Angel Munoz 2.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Angel Munoz (Lamar, CO) 300, 2. Michael Pepper (Lakin, KS) 283, 3. Jack Pepper 268, 4. Travis Baird (Chester, OK) 267, 5. Dusty Witthuhn (Bazine, KS) 251, 6. Ondre Rexford 236, 7. Marlin Hogie (Ulysses, KS) 228, 8. (tie) Landon Maddox (Lahoma, OK) and Jason Rogers (Selden, KS) 141, 10. Ron Hartman (Ulysses, KS) 138.


IMCA Hobby Stocks:

After a half-dozen podium finishes last year and another one to kick of this season, Duane Wahrman finally broke into victory lane last time out.  The victory gave Wahrman a one-point edge over Reagan Sellard, who has settled for runner-up honors both times out.  Meanwhile, defending champ Matt O’Hair won the opener but slipped to fourth after an early exit on May 6.

Feature Winners: Matt O’Hair 1, Duane Wahrman 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Duane Wahrman (Pratt, KS) 291, 2. Reagan Sellard (Bucklin, KS) 290, 3. Tyler Walker (Dighton, KS) 273, 4. Matt O’Hair (Laverne, OK) 264, 5. Gerald Walker 255, 6. Bryan Habiger (Ingalls, KS) 250, 7. Jacob Huse (Kinsley, KS) 246, 8. Brett Copeland (Fowler, KS) 245, 9. Tom Reed (Kalvesta, KS) 193, 10. Norman Rogers 185.


The 2017 season at Dodge City Raceway Park consists of 14 total nights of racing action, culminating with the return of the World of Outlaws Sprint Car series for the “Boot Hill Showdown” on October 27-18.  The complete 2017 schedule of events at Dodge City Raceway Park is available at http://www.dodgecityraceway.com/schedule/.

Dodge City Raceway Park is located on the south edge of Dodge City, KS, on US 283, then 0.9 miles west on US 56, then 0.1 miles south.  For more information, contact the track at 620-225-3277 or check www.dodgecityraceway.com.