Dodge City Raceway Park Crowns Five Champions in 2017

Dodge City Raceway Park Crowns Five Champions in 2017

December 21, 2017 0 By admin

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (December 21, 2017) – Another year of white-knuckle racing action atop the 3/8-mile Dodge City Raceway Park clay oval in 2017 culminated with a handful of drivers earning track championships.

Ten intense nights of championship chase action attracted in excess of 200 total competitors with 214 taking in at least one night of competition over the course of the year.  When the final checkered flag flew on the Jerry Soderberg Memorial Championship event in September, it was Taylor Velasquez, Clay Sellard, Jeff Kaup, Angel Munoz and Reagan Sellard emerging as champions.

Those five along with the balance of the top ten in final points in all five classes (Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars, IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sport Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars and IMCA Hobby Stocks) will be honored at the DCRP Awards Banquet to be held at the Western Expo Center adjacent to the track on Saturday, January 27.

The event is open to all fans and teams with tickets just $25 per person.  Available until January 20, tickets may be ordered by calling Gina Wilson at 620-339-9873 or Tommie Estes, Jr., at 405-238-8485.

A look at the top ten in final 2017 points in each division is as follows…

Taylor Velasquez DCRP Sprint Cars WSPrecise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars:

Taylor Velasquez made it two track championships in a row with a wins on July 15 and then the season finale on September 16 among his seven top-fives and nine top-tens in ten events.  It was enough for Velasquez to take the crown by 93 points over Tyler Knight.

Winner of the first two races out, Ty Williams ranked as the only other driver to post multiple wins as eight different drivers scored victories in ten outings.  Fort Worth, Texas, invader took the big money in June’s DCRP Sprint Car Nationals.

Feature Winners: Taylor Velasquez 2, Ty Williams 2, Zach Blurton 1, Jake Bubak 1, Luke Cranston 1, Tyler Knight 1, Jake Martens 1, Kevin Ramey 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Taylor Velasquez (Turpin, OK) 1,415, 2. Tyler Knight (Wright, KS) 1,322, 3. Kris Moore (Dodge City, KS) 1,255, 4. Jordan Knight (Wright, KS) 1,222, 5. Brandy Jones (Dodge City, KS) 1,195, 6. Ross Essenburg (Wichita, KS) 1,154, 7. Brian Herbert (Dodge City, KS) 1,038, 8. Brandon Sprott (Dodge City, KS) 968, 9. Ray Seemann (Jetmore, KS) 946, 10. Craig Jecha (Timken, KS) 789.

Total Competitors: 48

Perfect Attendance (10 of 10):  Taylor Velasquez, Tyler Knight, Kris Moore, Jordan Knight, Brandy Jones, Ross Essenburg.


Clay Sellard IMCA Modified WSIMCA Modifieds:

Clay Sellard put together nine top-tens in ten starts to add a Dodge City Raceway Park IMCA Modified title to a previous track IMCA Sport Mod crown.  A May 28 win for Sellard was among his division-best five top-five runs on the year.

Sellard took the title by a healthy 136-point margin over Randy Wilson, who edged 2016 track champ Nick Link by just one point for runner-up honors.  A mere 17 points separated the handful of drivers ranked from second to sixth.

The IMCA Modifieds offered up eight winners in ten events with Cole Traugott and William Nusser the only ones able to post multiple wins.

Feature Winners: William Nusser 2, Cole Traugott 2, Kale Beavers 1, Brendon Gemmill 1, Tracy Link 1, Randle McRoberts 1, Mike Petersilie 1, Clay Sellard 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Clay Sellard (Bucklin, KS) 1,347, 2. Randy Wilson (Wichita, KS) 1,201, 3. Nick Link (Rolla, KS) 1,200, 4. Kevin Gray (Ulysses, KS) 1,197, 5. Mike Lunow (Dodge City, KS) 1,193, 6. Kale Beavers (Pierceville, KS) 1,184, 7. Jack Kirchoff (Garden City, KS) 1,155, 8. Joel Lane (Ulysses, KS) 1,111, 9. Jesse Smith (Dodge City, KS) 1,110, 10. Tracy Link (Rolla, KS) 1,109.

Total Competitors: 45

Perfect Attendance (10 of 10):  Clay Sellard, Randy Wilson, Nick Link, Kevin Gray, Mike Lunow, Kale Beavers, Jack Kirchoff, Jesse Smith, Tracy Link, Tom Beavers, Travis Simmons.


Jeff Kaup IMCA Sport Mod WSIMCA Sport Modifieds:

Denied the title in 2016, Woodward’s Jeff Kaup got his vengeance by winning four of eight features en route to snaring his fourth track title in the past five years.

With seven podium finishes and nothing worse than fourth, Kaup blitzed out to a 160-point margin over the duo of Brian May and Kyle Wiens, who tied for runner-up honors.

Feature Winners: Jeff Kaup 4, Dustin Daniels 1, Brian Davidson 1, Brandon Kenny 1, Dakota Sproul 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Jeff Kaup (Woodward, OK) 1,173, 2. (tie) Brian May (Spearville, KS) and Kyle Wiens (Newton, KS) 1,013, 4. Alex Wiens (Newton, KS) 1,009, 5. Joey Maupin (Dodge City, KS) 966, 6. Jarett Lunow (Dodge City, KS) 946, 7. Kohl Ricke (Spearville, KS) 896, 8. Tanner Brunson (Dodge City, KS) 783, 9. Dan Rogers (Buffalo, OK) 729, 10. Bart Baker (Dodge City, KS) 715.

Total Competitors: 55

Perfect Attendance (8 of 8):  Jeff Kaup, Brian May, Kyle Wiens, Alex Wiens, Joey Maupin, Jarett Lunow, Kohl Ricke.


Angel Munoz IMCA Stock Cars WSIMCA Stock Cars:

Angel Munoz made the frequent 300-mile roundtrip from Lamar, CO, worth the effort by dominating the IMCA Stock Cars with six wins in eight outings to take the title by 154 points over Ondre Rexford.  Rexford made a big jump in points from eighth in 2016 to take runner-up honors this year.

Feature Winners: Angel Munoz 6, Michael Pepper 1, Tyler Tipton 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Angel Munoz (Lamar, CO) 1,190 2. Ondre Rexford (Parts Unknown) 1,046, 3. Marlin Hogie (Ulysses, KS) 984, 4. Gregg Schell (Cheney, KS) 774, 5. Chris Oliver (Holcomb, KS) 671, 6. Travis Baird (Chester, OK) 657, 7. Dusty Witthuhn (Bazine, KS) 641, 8. Jack Pepper (Lakin, KS) 511, 9. Michael Pepper (Lakin, KS) 508, 10. Shannon Maughlin 481.

Total Competitors: 38

Perfect Attendance (8 of 8):  Angel Munoz, Ondre Rexford, Marlin Hogie.


Reagan Sellard IMCA Hobby Stocks WSIMCA Hobby Stocks:

A flip-and-win night early in the season proved to be the difference, as Reagan Sellard edged Duane Wahrman by just ten points for the IMCA Hobby Stock crown.

Sellard and Wahrman combined to win six of eight feature events with 2016 champ Matt O’Hair posting a win as well to finish a close third in points.

Feature Winners: Reagan Sellard 3, Duane Wahrman 3, Brett Copeland 1, Matt O’Hair 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Reagan Sellard (Bucklin, KS) 1,160, 2. Duane Wahrman (Pratt, KS) 1,150, 3. Matt O’Hair (Laverne, OK) 1,098, 4. Tyler Walker (Dighton, KS) 1,090, 5. Brett Copeland (Fowler, KS) 1,038, 6. Gerald Walker (Dighton, KS) 927, 7. Danny Schulte 881, 8. Tom Reed (Kalvesta, KS) 870, 9. Bryan Habiger (Ingalls, KS) 781, 10. Jacob Huse 740.

Total Competitors: 28

Perfect Attendance (8 of 8):  Reagan Sellard, Duane Wahrman, Matt O’Hair, Tyler Walker, Brett Copeland, Gerald Walker, Tom Reed.


Next Up: DCRP Awards Banquet at the Western Expo Center in Dodge City, KS, on Saturday, January 27.

Comfort Suites located at 2700 West Wyatt Earp Boulevard in Dodge City, KS, is the official lodging partner of Dodge City Raceway Park.  The Comfort Suites official internet site is located at  Those staying at the Comfort Suites will want to request the special DCRP rate for their visit.

The 2018 schedule of events at Dodge City Raceway Park is available at

Dodge City Raceway Park is located on the south edge of Dodge City, KS, on US 283, then 0.9 miles west on US 56, then 0.1 miles south.  For more information, contact the track at 620-225-3277 or check