Donny Schatz Wins World of Outlaws “Boot Hill Showdown” at DCRP

October 21, 2018 0 By admin

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (October 20, 2018) – North Dakota’s Donny Schatz snapped a 13-race winless streak in World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car competition by streaking to victory lane in Saturday night’s 30-lap “Boot Hill Showdown” feature event atop the 3/8-mile Dodge City Raceway Park clay oval.

Schatz battled past early pacesetter Ian Madsen for the point on the ninth round and then fought off a late bid from the Australian racer to capture his first win since September 5 aboard the Tony Stewart/Curb-Agajanian Racing Ford Performance/Textron Off Road No. 15.

“There has been some challenges this year, I wish it was more wins,” the nine-time series champion said of his 20th triumph of the year.  “That’s the thing about winning these races, it’s addictive.  You always want more, whether it’s 20 or 40 or whatever outrageous number, it’s never enough.”

While Schatz collected $10,000 for the “Boot Hill Showdown” victory, other Saturday night winners in the season-ending event included B.J. Wagoner in IMCA Stock Car action and Devon Ghumm in the IMCA Hobby Stocks.

In the 30-lap World of Outlaws feature, Madsen outgunned Schatz for the point at the drop of the green and set the early pace until Schatz battled into the lead in lapped traffic on the ninth round.  Moments later, third-runner Sheldon Haudenschild spun to the infield to bring the first of three cautions.

Schatz kept Madsen at bay over the ensuing rounds with Daryn Pittman holding off fellow Kasey Kahne Racing rep Brad Sweet for third.

Following the race’s final caution after 20 circuit, Schatz jumped out again before Madsen began to reel him in over the final handful of lap.  Madsen slid alongside in turns three and four on the 26th but couldn’t make the move stick.

Schatz maintained a two car-length advantage over the final rounds to rack up his 281st career World of Outlaws victory and fourth in “Boot Hill Showdown” competition at Dodge City Raceway Park.

Madsen settled for second with Oklahoma’s Pittman filling out the podium in third.  California’s Sweet was fourth with Missouri’s Brian Brown climbing seven positions from 12th to round out the top five.

Logan Schuchart was sixth with Brent Marks, Shane Stewart, Hunter Schuerenberg and David Gravel completing the top ten.

The night opened up with 22 of the 23 entries timing in quicker than the previous track record of 12.277 seconds established by Schatz in 2005.  Ian Madsen ultimately set the night’s quick time and new track record of 11.759 seconds.

Madsen, Pittman and Marks picked up heat race wins.

In the 15-lap IMCA Stock Car feature, B.J. Wagoner had his hands full throughout en route to his first career DCRP triumph.

Gregg Schell rode Wagoner’s rear bumper much of the way Tyler Tipton worked his way into second.  Tipton and Schell both made a last-lap bid but fell short with Wagoner crossing the stripe ahead of Tipton, Schell, Jesse Smith and Ron Hartman.

The 15-lap IMCA Hobby Stock feature finished off in similar fashion with Devon Ghumm earning his first DCRP victory as well in just his fourth race.

Ghumm gunned into the lead early and kept the field a few car-lengths back until lapped traffic came into play over the final handful of laps.  Dion Priddy and Cody Williams closed the gap and both made last laps bids to no avail.  Williams settled for second behind Ghumm with Priddy, Brandon Berry and Sheri Berger rounding out the top five.

The event wrapped up the 2018 season at Dodge City Raceway Park.

Dodge City Raceway Park

October 20, 2018 Results:

World of Outlaws Sprint Cars “Boot Hill Showdown”

Qualifying: 1. 18-Ian Madsen 11.759, 2. 9-Daryn Pittman 11.761, 3. 19-Brent Marks 11.764, 4. 7s-Jason Sides 11.787, 5. 17-Sheldon Haudenschild 11.902, 6. 15-Donny Schatz 11.807, 7. 49-Brad Sweet 11.822, 8. 2-Shane Stewart 11.827, 9. 21-Brian Brown 11.863, 10. W20-Greg Wilson 11.902, 11. 97g-Hunter Schuerenberg 11.903, 12. 1s-Logan Schuchart 11.920, 13. 4-Brock Zearfoss 11.943, 14. 5-David Gravel 11.946, 15. 0-Steven Richardson 11.970, 16. 11k-Kraig Kinser 12.010, 17. 15h-Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 12.024, 18. 41-Joey Saldana 12.043, 19. 1x-Don Droud, Jr. 12.081, 20. 1a-Jacob Allen 12.090, 21. 8h-Jade Hastings 12.165, 22. 2c-Wayne Johnson 12.200, 23. 91-Adam Gullion 12.351.

Heat One (8 Laps):  1. 18-Ian Madsen, 2. 49-Brad Sweet, 3. 7s-Jason Sides, 4. 4-Brock Zearfoss, 5. W20-Greg Wilson, 6. 11k-Kraig Kinser, 7. 1x-Don Droud, Jr., 8. 2c-Wayne Johnson.

Heat Two (8 Laps):  1. 9-Daryn Pittman, 2. 17-Sheldon Haudenschild, 3. 2-Shane Stewart, 4. 97g-Hunter Schuerenberg, 5. 5-David Gravel, 6. 1a-Jacob Allen, 7. 91-Adam Gullion, 8. 15h-Sam Hafertepe, Jr. (DNS).

Heat Three (8 Laps):  1. 19-Brent Marks, 2. 15-Donny Schatz, 3. 1s-Logan Schuchart, 4. 21-Brian Brown, 5. 41-Joey Saldana, 6. 8h-Jade Hastings, 7. 0-Steven Richardson.

Dash (6 Laps):  1. 18-Ian Madsen, 2. 15-Donny Schatz, 3. 17-Sheldon Haudensdchild, 4. 9-Daryn Pittman, 5. 19-Brent Marks, 6. 49-Brad Sweet.

“A” Main (30 Laps):  1. 15-Donny Schatz (2), 2. 18-Ian Madsen (1), 3. 9-Daryn Pittman (4), 4. 49-Brad Sweet (6), 5. 21-Brian Brown (12), 6. 1s-Logan Schuchart (9), 7. 19-Brent Marks (5), 8. 2-Shane Stewart (8), 9. 97g-Hunter Schuerenberg (11), 10. 5-David Gravel (14), 11. 41-Joey Saldana (15), 12. 7s-Jason Sides (7), 13. 17-Sheldon Haudenschild (3), 14. 4-Brock Zearfoss (10), 15. 15h-Sam Hafertepe, Jr. (23), 16. 11k-Kraig Kinser (16), 17. 1x-Don Droud, Jr. (19), 18. 8h-Jade Hastings (18), 19. 91-Adam Gullion (20), 20. W20-Greg Wilson (13), 21. 0-Steven Richardson (21), 22. 2c-Wayne Johnson (22), 23. 1a-Jacob Allen (17).

Lap Leaders: Ian Madsen 1-8, Donny Schatz 9-30.


IMCA Stock Cars:

Heat One (8 Laps):  1. 6u-Tyler Tipton, 2. 51w-B.J. Wagoner, 3. 89-Greg Schell, 4. 01-Jesse Smith, 5. 12g-Ryan Grit, 6. 55h-Ron Hartman, 7. 22p-Jack Pepper, 8. 37x-Jeff Tubbs, 9. 22w-Mike Warta.

“A” Main (15 Laps):  1. 51w-B.J. Wagoner, 2. 6u-Tyler Tipton, 3. 89-Gregg Schell, 4. 01-Jesse Smith, 5. 55h-Ron Hartman, 6. 12g-Ryan Grit, 7. 22w-Mike Warta, 8. 22p-Jack Pepper, 9. 37x-Jeff Tubbs.


IMCA Hobby Stocks:

Heat One (8 Laps):  1. 77-Cody Williams, 2. 24b-Sheri Berger, 3. D68-Dion Priddy, 4. 3-Brian Thomas, 5. X22-David Burrow, 6. 1c-Cody Ghumm, 7. 55-Jake Huse (DNS).

Heat Two (8 Laps):  1. 11d-Devon Ghumm, 2. 007-Bryan Habiger, 3. 15b-Braxton Berry, 4. 11-Josh Reece, 5. 45p-Ryan Penrod, 6. 7-Tom Reed.

“A” Main (15 Laps):  1. 11d-Devon Ghumm, 2. 77-Cody Williams, 3. D68-Dion Priddy, 4. 15b-Brandon Berry, 5. 24b-Sheri Berger, 6. 007-Bryan Habiger, 7. 11-Josh Reece, 8. 7-Tom Reed, 9. 45p-Ryan Penrod, 10. X22-David Burrow, 11. 3-Brian Thomas. DNS: 1c-Cody Ghumm, 55-Jake Huse.