Green Flag Flies Saturday at DCRP!

Green Flag Flies Saturday at DCRP!

May 1, 2018 0 By admin

drcpsprintcars052817 980bLonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (May 1, 2018) – The fourth time appears to be the charm at Dodge City Raceway Park.  At least that’s what fans and racers alike are hoping as the state-of-the-art 3/8-mile clay oval is set to get the 2018 season under way this Saturday night, May 5.

The initial three attempts to get the season under way all fell victim to inclement weather.

With the cold and wet weather finally giving way to spring time conditions, the DCRP championship chases will officially get under way on Saturday night with a full card of Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars, IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sport Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars and IMCA Hobby Stocks.  Racing action will get under way at 7:30 p.m.

Taylor Velasquez, Clay Sellard, Jeff Kaup Angel Munoz and Reagan Sellard enter the evening as the reigning track champions after topping their respective divisions last year.

Turpin, Oklahoma’s Velasquez raced to his second consecutive DCRP Sprint Car championship ahead of Tyler Knight, Kris Moore, Jordan Knight and Brandy Jones.  Velasquez has topped six of 21 feature events at DCRP over the past two seasons.

Bucklin’s Clay Sellard was one of eight different winners in ten IMCA Modified features last year, taking the title ahead of Randy Wilson, 2016 champion Nick Link, Kevin Gray and Mike Lunow.

Woodward, Oklahoma’s Jeff Kaup raced to victory lane in four of eight IMCA Sport Modified features last year to pick up his fourth championship over the last five years by a 160-point margin over Brian May and Kyle Wiens, who tied for second, with Alex Wiens and Joey Maupin rounding out the top five.  Kaup has collected 15 DCRP feature wins over the past five seasons.

Lamar, Colorado’s Angel Munoz ruled the IMCA Stock Car ranks in 2017 by topping six of eight features to take the crown by a healthy margin over Ondre Rexford, Marlin Hogie, Gregg Schell and Chris Oliver.

In the IMCA Hobby Stocks, Bucklin’s Reagan Sellard edged Duane Wahrman for the title by just 10 points with 2016 champion Matt O’Hair, Tyler Walker and Brett Copeland also among the top five.  Sellard and Wahrman both scored three feature wins along the way.

Tickets for Saturday’s season opening championship chase action at Dodge City Raceway Park are just $15 for adults while children 11 and under are admitted free when accompanied by an adult.  Pit passes are $30.

In total, the 2018 season at Dodge City Raceway Park is slated for 17 nights of action, culminating with the return of the World of Outlaws Sprint Cars on Saturday night, October 20.

The complete 2018 schedule of events at Dodge City Raceway Park is available at

Dodge City Raceway Park is located on the south edge of Dodge City, KS, on US 283, then 0.9 miles west on US 56, then 0.1 miles south.  For more information, contact the track at 620-225-3277 or check