Jeremy Huish Captures First DCRP Sprint Car Win with Clay Sellard, Dakota Sproul, Angel Munoz and Tathan Burkhart Victorious as Well

June 29, 2019 0 By admin

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (June 29, 2019) – Jetmore’s Jeremy Huish made a late move to win his first career Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Car feature event at Saturday’s Mid-Season Championships atop the 3/8-mile Dodge City Raceway Park clay oval.

While Huish enjoyed his first Sprint Car win, other Mid-Championships night winners included Clay Sellard (IMCA Modifieds), Dakota Sproul (IMCA Sport Modifieds), Angel Munoz (IMCA Stock Cars) and Tathan Burkart (IMCA Hobby Stocks).

In the 20-lap Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Car feature, Jeremy Huish spent the bulk of the race playing the role of chaser after starting fifth.

Huish made his way into third by the fourth round and then battled past Koby Walters for second on the eighth circuit, setting his sights on racer leader Brian Herbert.

Herbert, who led from the outset after starting from the pole position, began to lose his advantage as the laps clicked off.  Huish moved in to challenge with a handful of laps remaining and pulled alongside at the completion of the 17th lap before using the low side of turns one and two a half lap later to take command.

In the IMCA Modified ranks, Clay Sellard needed less than two laps to race into the lead from eighth and led the rest of the way in the 20-lapper to become the fifth different winner in as many races.

Bucklin’s Sellard stretched his lead out to a full half-lap by the time a late caution flew to set up a four-lap dash to the stripe.  Sellard took off once again to secure the victory ahead of Tom Beavers, who made his way past Kevin Gray at the midway point to post runner-up honors.

Beavers finished just ahead of his son, Kale Beavers, with William Nusser and Gray rounding out the top five.

Hays’ Dakota Sproul took command late and then survived an ailing engine the closing laps of the 20-lap feature to snare his third IMCA Sport Modified win of the season.

Working his way into second from the sixth starting position within a lap, Sproul went to work on leader Mike Lunow with Jeff Kaup making it a three-car battle for the lead past the midway point.

With a lapped car in play, Kaup made a move on both Lunow and Sproul on the backstretch on the 14th round only to get into the third turn wall and cut a right front tire.  Kaup rejoined the chase at the tail.

Sproul pounced on the restart, squeezing underneath Lunow for the lead and then nursed a sick engine over the final laps to get the win ahead of a closing Shay Simoneau with Joey Maupin, Bart Baker and Brian May rounding out the top five.

Lamar, Colorado’s Angel Munoz added more hardware to his collecting by storming to his fifth IMCA Stock Car feature win of the season in six events.

Munoz battled past Troy Burkhart on the third lap and led the rest of the way in the 15-lapper, taking the checkered flag ahead of Mike Petersilie, Chris Oliver, Bukhart and Gregg Schell.

Hays’ Tathan Burkhart rounded out the night by racing to his third DCRP win of the season in the 20-lap IMCA Hobby Stock main event.

Burkhart wrestled the lead away from Devon Ghumm on the sixth round and went on to cross the stripe ahead Reagan Sellard,  Matt O’Hair, Ghumm and Dion Priddy.

Following Sunday’s fourth scheduled round of Micro and Kart action atop the 1/7-mile Little DCRP, the 3/8-mile Dodge City Raceway Park returns to action next Saturday, July 6, with the Second Annual Dodge City 200 Enduro and then another round of Little DCRP competition on Sunday, July 7.

Dodge City Raceway Park – Mid-Season Championships

June 29, 2019 Results:

Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars:

Heat One (8 Laps):  1. 72-Ray Seemann, 2. 11k-Tyler Knight, 3. 45x-Kyler Johnson, 4. 10-Jordan Knight, 5. 9d-Lance Davis, 6. 51r-Ross Essenburg.

Heat Two (8 Laps):  1. 33-Koby Walters, 2. 97-Brian Herbert, 3. 88J-Jeremy Huish, 4. 49x-Luke Cranston, 5. 0-Steven Richardson.

“A” Main (20 Laps):  1. 88J-Jeremy Huish, 2. 97-Brian Herbert, 3. 33-Koby Walters, 4. 72-Ray Seemann, 5. 10-Jordan Knight, 6. 11k-Tyler Knight, 7. 49x-Luke Cranston, 8. 0-Steven Richardson, 9. 45x-Kyler Johnson, 10. 51r-Ross Essenburg, 11. 9d-Lance Davis.

Lap Leaders: Brian Herbert 1-17, Jeremy Huish 18-20. 


IMCA Modifieds:

Heat One (8 Laps):  1. 3h-Ryan Heger, 2. 22T-Trent Gray, 3. 98-Danny Keller, 4. K17-Ryan Keller, 5. 26-Tom Beavers, 6. D14-Derrick Dechant.

Heat Two (8 Laps):  1. 25-Kale Beavers, 2. 85c-Clay Sellard, 3. 16-Kevin Gray, 4. 01-Jesse Smith (DNS), 5. 7n-William Nusser (DNS), 6. 94-Jim Graves (DNS).

“A” Main (20 Laps):  1. 85c-Clay Sellard, 2. 26-Tom Beavers, 3. 25-Kale Beavers 4. 7n-William Nusser, 5. 16-Kevin Gray, 6. 01-Jesse Smith, 7. 22T-Trent Gray, 8. 98-Danny Keller, 9. D14-Derrick Dechant, 10. K17-Ryan Keller, 11. 3h-Ryan Heger, 12. 94-Jim Graves (DNS).


IMCA Sport Modifieds:

Heat One (8 Laps):  1. 44-Mike Lunow, 2. 08-Dakota Sproul, 3. 8-Brian May, 4. 28k-Ryan Kirchoff, 5. 15-Corky Knight, 6. 55-Jake Huse, 7. F97-Shawn Ward.

Heat Two (8 Laps):  1. 37-Bart Baker, 2. 92-Jeff Kaup, 3. 21-Joey Maupin, 4. 22ss-Shay Simoneau, 5. 14n-Marty Chockley, 6. 97-Marvin Ward.

“A” Main (20 Laps):  1. 08-Dakota Sproul, 2. 22ss-Shay Simoneau, 3. 21-Joey Maupin, 4. 37-Bart Baker, 5. 8-Brian May, 6. 28k-Ryan Kirchoff, 7. 92-Jeff Kaup, 8. 15-Corky Knight, 9. 97-Marvin Ward, 10. F97-Shawn Ward, 11. 44-Mike Lunow, 12. 55-Jake Huse, 13. 14n-Marty Chockley.


IMCA Stock Cars:

Heat One (8 Laps):  1. 25x-Troy Burkhart, 2. 2m-Angel Munoz, 3. 3-Chris Oliver, 4. 37-Jason Rogers, 5. 25p-Mike Petersilie, 6. 89-Gregg Schell, 7. 22-Donald Kaup, 8. 33-Marlin Hogie, 9. 99-Gerald Walker, 10. 55-Robbie Perkins, 11. 21-Josh Siebert (DNS).

“A” Main (15 Laps):  1. 2m-Angel Munoz, 2. 25p-Mike Petersilie, 3. 3-Chris Oliver, 4. 25x-Troy Burkhart, 5. 89-Gregg Schell, 6. 22-Donald Kaup, 7. 33-Marlin Hogie, 8. 99-Gerald Walker, 9. 37-Jason Rogers, 10. 21-Josh Siebert, 11. 55-Robbie Perkins.


Hobby Stocks:

Heat One (20 Laps):  1. 69-Danny Schulte, 2. 2s-Reagan Sellard, 3. 2m-Matt O’Hair, 4. 37-B.J. Rogers, 5. 81-Skeets Salazar, 6. 3-Brian Thomas, 7. 19-Brett Copeland (DNS).

Heat Two (8 Laps):  1. 250-Tathan Burkhart, 2. 11d-Devon Ghumm, 3. D68-Dion Priddy, 4. 7-Tom Reed, 5. 17w-Duane Wahrman, 6. 57-Chad Kelley, 7. 24b-Sheri Berger (DNS).

“A” Main (15 Laps):  1.   250-Tathan Burkhart, 2. 2s-Reagan Sellard, 3. 2m-Matt O’Hair, 4. 11d-Devon Ghumm, 5. D68-Dion Priddy, 6. 81-Skeets Salazar, 7. 3-Brian Thomas, 8. 57-Chad Kelley, 9. 17w-Duane Wahrman, 10. 69-Danny Schulte, 11. 24b-Sheri Berger, 12. 37-B.J. Rogers, 13. 7-Tom Reed (DNS), 14. 19-Brett Copeland (DNS).