Knight Flies for DCRP Sprint Car Nationals Prelim Win

Knight Flies for DCRP Sprint Car Nationals Prelim Win

June 17, 2017 0 By admin

Tyler Knight DCRP Sprint Car Win 061617Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (June 16, 2017) – Tyler Knight kicked off the Lewis Automotive DCRP Sprint Car Nationals by wiring the field in Friday night’s 20-lap preliminary feature atop the 3/8-mile Dodge City Raceway Park clay oval.

While Knight survived a late caution to post his first Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Car win of the season aboard the Knight Racing/Myers Racing Engine/Superior Fence No. 11k, Randle McRoberts captured his first IMCA Modified feature victory.

With a field of 31 DCRP Sprint Cars checked in to get dialed in for Saturday night’s $3,000-to-win, $600-to-start championship event, Knight of Wright, KS, advanced two positions from fourth to second in his heat race and then redrew the front row outside starting position for the 20-lap main event.

Knight took full advantage of the front row start, outgunning Colorado’s Austin McLean for the lead at the outset and slipping away in the early going as Nebraska’s Trevor Grossenbacher slid past McLean for second on the fourth round.

Knight began working traffic near the midway point and had his pursuers at bay until the race’s only caution flew with just four laps remaining when fourth-running Luke Cranston got into the turn two wall.

Grossenbacher made a big slide attempt for the lead entering turn one on the restart, but Knight was up to the challenge.

Knight denied the Cornhusker’s move and raced on to the stripe to make it three consecutive years of posting a DCRP win with Grossenbacher settling for runner-up honors.  New Mexico’s James Mosher raced around McLean on the restart to claim third while Colorado’s Jake Bubak made a last-lap pass to snare fourth after gridding the feature field in 14th.

McLean rounded out the top five with the rest of the top ten including Jetmore’s Ray Seemann, Liberal’s Koby Walters, Oklahoma’s Ty Williams, Dodge City’s Kris Moore and Wichita Falls shoe Chad Koch.

McLean, Moore, Seemann and Mosher topped heat race action with Zach Blurton winning the “B” Main.  Liberal’s Tracey Hill walked away from a wild ride in turn three during “B” Main action.

Randle McRoberts DCRP Win IMCA Mods 061617In the accompanying 20-lap IMCA Modified feature, Dodge City’s Randle McRoberts slipped by Travis Simmons on the 12th circuit and paced the field the rest of the way for his first DCRP score.

Simmons and McRoberts started alongside each other on the front row of the main event with Simmons getting the upper hand in the early going.  McRoberts chased Simmons for 11 laps before finally pouncing on the lead.

Joel Lane followed McRoberts’ lead around Simmons and held second until the final round when Woodward’s Cole Traugott worked his way into the runner-up position after starting 12th.  Lane claimed the show position with the father-son duo of Troy and Brendon Gemmill rounding out the top five.  Troy Gemmill’s charge to fourth came from the 20th starting position.

The $3,000-to-win Lewis Automotive DCRP Sprint Car Nationals championship finale gets under way on Saturday night, June 17, at 7:30 p.m. with IMCA Modifieds and IMCA Stock Cars in action as well.

Dodge City Raceway Park – Lewis Automotive DCRP Sprint Car Nationals Night One

June 16, 2017 Results:

Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars:

Heat One (8 Laps):  1. 83-Austin McLean, 2. 49x-Luke Cranston, 3. 97-Brian Herbert, 4. 18-Brandon Sprott, 5. 98-J.D. Johnson, 6. 2J-Zach Blurton, 7. 8J-Brandy Jones, 8. 9-John Webster.

Heat Two (8 Laps):  1. 49-Kris Moore, 2. 911-Ty Williams, 3. 9x-Jake Bubak, 4. 33-Koby Walters, 5. 5-Chip Graham, 6. 11-Keefe Hemel, 7. 1x-Cody Lampe. DNS: 3-Ryan Walters.

Heat Three (8 Laps):  1. 72-Ray Seemann, 2. 11k-Tyler Knight, 3. 35-Trevor Grossenbacher, 4. 21x-Taylor Velasquez, 5. 0-Steven Richardson, 6. 27-Patrick Bourke, 7. 51r-Ross Essenberg, 8. 2b-Brett Becker.

Heat Four (8 Laps):  1. 12-James Mosher, 2. 35k-Chad Koch, 3. 9d-Lance Davis, 4. 92-Koby Pearce, 5. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 6. 10-Jordan Knight, 7. 28-Tracey Hill.

“B” Main (12 Laps):  1. 2J-Zach Blurton, 2. 0-Steven Richardson, 3. 8J-Brandy Jones, 4. 11-Keefe Hemel, 5. 10-Joran Knight, 6. 27-Patrick Bourke, 7. 98-J.D. Johnson, 8. 1x-Cody Lampe, 9. 51r-Ross Essenberg, 10. 9-John Webster, 11. 2b-Brett Becker, 12. 28-Tracey Hill.  DNS: 3-Ryan Walters.

“A” Main (20 Laps):  1. 11k-Tyler Knight, 2. 35-Trevor Grossenbacher, 3. 12-James Mosher, 4. 9x-Jake Bubak, 5. 83-Austin McLean, 6. 72-Ray Seemann, 7. 33-Koby Walters, 8. 911-Ty Williams, 9. 49-Kris Moore, 10. 35k-Chad Koch, 11. 21x-Taylor Velasquez, 12. 92-Koby Pearce, 13. 2J-Zach Blurton, 14. 8J-Brandy Jones, 15. 27-Patrick Bourke, 16. 9d-Lance Davis, 17. 11-Keefe Hemel, 18. 0-Steven Richardson, 19. 10-Jordan Knight, 20. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 21. 49x-Luke Cranston, 22. 18-Brandon Sprott, 23. 5-Chip Graham, 24. 97-Brian Herbert.


IMCA Modifieds:

Heat One (8 Laps):  1. 01-Jesse Smith, 2. 25-Kale Beavers, 3. 36-Travis Simmons, 4. 721-Brendon Gemmill, 5. 1n-Nick Link, 6, 18-Austin Allen, 7. 22T-Trent Gray, 8. 88J-Jack Kirchoff.

Heat Two (8 Laps):  1. 75-Randle McRoberts, 2. 16-Kevin Gray, 3. 7s-David Solberg, 4. 85c-Clay Sellard, 5. 27-Grant Florence, 6. 44-Mike Lunow, 7. 21-Troy Gemmill. DNS: 7n-William Nusser.

Heat Three (8 Laps):  1. 57-Joel Lane, 2. 2L-Tracy Link, 3. 9-Cole Traugott, 4. 98k-Danny Keller, 5. 3c-Dale Wanger, 6. A2-Randy Wilson, 7. 26-Tom Beavers.

“A” Main (20 Laps):  1. 75-Randle McRoberts, 2. 9-Cole Traugott, 3. 57-Joel Lane, 4. 21-Troy Gemmill, 5. 721-Brendon Gemmill, 6. 16-Kevin Gray, 7. 1n-Nick Link, 8. 44-Mike Lunow, 9. 36-Travis Simmons, 10. 85c-Clay Sellard, 11. 01-Jesse Smith, 12. 98k-Danny Keller, 13. 3c-Dale Wanger, 14. 26-Tom Beavers, 15. 88J-Jack Kirchoff, 16. 22T-Trent Gray, 17. 27-Grant Florence, 18. 18-Austin Allen, 19. 25-Kale Beavers, 20. 7s-David Solberg, 21. A2-Randy Wilson, 22. 2L-Tracy Link. DNS: 7n-William Nusser.