Swindell Completes Wicked City Shootout Sweep!

Swindell Completes Wicked City Shootout Sweep!

September 3, 2012 0 By admin

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (September 2, 2012) – Jeff Swindell completed a sweep of Dodge City Raceway Park’s Inaugural Wicked City Shootout by winning Sunday night’s 30-lap Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MavTV National Tour feature event atop the 3/8-mile clay oval.

Piloting the Jetmore, KS, based Washburn No. 0, Swindell took the point for keeps on the 28th circuit and took the checkered flag little more than a car-length ahead of Liberal, KS, native Tony Bruce, Jr., for his fourth career series triumph.

Other winners on the night included Clay Sellard in United Wireless IMCA Sport Modified action, Perry Misner in IMCA Stock Car competition and Dan Rogers in the Poor Boy Kustomz Thunder Car feature.

“Anytime you can win on back-to-back nights anywhere, it’s an accomplishment,” Swindell explained in victory lane.  “We just had a great car all weekend, everything went just the way it needed to.”

Swindell gridded the $4,000-to-win main event from the pole position with Danny Wood alongside, but it was fourth-starter Brian Brown gunning into the lead on the opening lap and paced the initial half of the race in front of Swindell and Wood as Bruce, Jr., worked his way forward from tenth to fourth in the opening ten rounds.

As Brown abandoned the high line, Swindell began searching the track and took advantage when the Grain Valley, MO, shoe got boxed in behind a slower car exiting turn four on the 20th lap.  Swindell shot into the lead with Bruce, Jr., who had taken third from Wood four laps earlier, following in second as Brown slipped to third.

“I’d been gaining some ground on the bottom of three and four, but then he must have got some signals or something because he moved down there,” Swindell explained.  “I had to start searching around and it actually helped me some.”

Swindell’s lead was short-lived however, as Bruce, Jr., slid into the lead one lap later.  Swindell kept the heat on the leader and was there to take advantage when Bruce, Jr., missed the cushion in turn two on the 28th lap.

Bruce, Jr., tried to rally back for his fourth ASCS National win of the year and ninth of his career, but fell just one car-length short of Swindell’s RE Technologies/Pride Ag Resources/Just Joe’s Trucking No. 0.

Brown settled for the show position behind Swindell and Bruce, Jr., with Wood and Brady Bacon rounding out the top five.  Wayne Johnson was sixth, with Logan Forler, Johnny Herrera, Jason Johnson and Dustin Morgan completing the top ten.

The 30-lap ASCS feature was interrupted just once when the red flag flew after five laps for a Taylor Velasquez flip in turn two.  Velasquez was uninjured.

Clay Sellard took the lead away from Colby Hagans on the fifth round and then held off Austin Walker and Blaine Walt for his first United Wireless IMCA Sport Modified feature win of the year.  Josh Appel and Mike Appel rounded out the top five.

Perry Misner drove a third different car to IMCA Stock Car victory lane by taking the lead away from Mel Law on the 10th round and slipping away from a six-car battle for the point over the final handful of laps.  Misner’s fifth win of the year came in front of Billy Phelps, Angel Munoz, Michael Pepper and Law.

Dan Rogers raced around Cody Davis on the 11th circuit en route to his second win of the season in the Poor Boy Kustomz Thunder Cars and first win since May 4.  Rogers beat Davis to the stripe, with W.D. Matteson, Codi Ehrlich and Bryan Habiger rounding out the top five.

Next up at Dodge City Raceway Park is championship chase action on Saturday night, September 15, featuring the IMCA Modifieds, United Wireless IMCA Sport Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars, Poor Boy Kustomz Thunder Cars and Hornets.


Dodge City Raceway Park September 2 Results:

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MavTV:

Locked in from Saturday Night’s Preliminary Feature: 0-Jeff Swindell, 5h-Logan Forler, 21-Brian Brown, 77x-Wayne Johnson.

First Heat (8 Laps):  1. 9m-Ricky Montgomery, 2. 50-Zach Chappell, 3. 41-Jason Johnson, 4. 14k-Kyle Bellm, 5. 05-Brad Loyet, 6. 11-Joe Wood, Jr., 7. 17-Josh Baughman, 8. 0m-Steven Richardson.

Second Heat (8 Laps):  1. 9-Gary Wright, 2. E85-Gary Taylor, 3. 2-Dustin Morgan, 4. 1-Ty Williams, 5. 11w-Wyatt Burks, 6. 05j-Justin Wolf-Medlock, 7. 29-Brandon Hahn.

Third Heat (8 Laps):  1. 81-Danny Wood, 2. 99-Brady Bacon, 3. 21x-Taylor Velasquez, 4. 12m-Kyle McCutcheon, 5. 21w-Wes Wofford, 6. 23-Seth Bergman, 7. 6x-Kaley Gharst.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps):   1. 45x-Johnny Herrera, 2. 18-Tony Bruce, Jr., 3. 11g-Mike Goodman, 4. 38-Cody Baker, 5. 72-Ray Seemann, 6. 16k-Kaden Taylor, 7. 92-Jordan Weaver.

“B” Feature (12 Laps):  1. 05-Brad Loyet, 2. 21x-Taylor Velasquez, 3. 11-Joe Wood, Jr., 4. 23-Seth Bergman, 5. 1-Ty Williams, 6. 21w-Wes Wofford, 7. 6x-Kaley Gharst, 8. 12m-Kyle McCutcheon, 9. 11w-Wyatt Burks, 10. 92-Jordan Weaver, 11. 72-Ray Seemann, 12. 16k-Kaden Taylor, 13. 05j-Justin Wolf-Medlock, 14. 17-Josh Baughman, 15. 0m-Steven Richardson, 16. 38-Cody Baker. DNS: 29-Brandon Hahn.

“A” Feature (30 Laps):  1. 0-Jeff Swindell, 2. 18-Tony Bruce, Jr., 3. 21-Brian Brown, 4. 81-Danny Wood, 5. 99-Brady Bacon, 6. 77x-Wayne Johnson, 7. 5h-Logan Forler, 8. 45x-Johnny Herrera, 9. 41-Jason Johnson, 10. 2-Dustin Morgan, 11. 50z-Zach Chappell, 12. 05-Brad Loyet, 13. 11-Joe Wood, Jr., 14. 11g-Mike Goodman, 15. 23-Seth Bergman, 16. 21w-Wes Wofford, 17. E85-Gary Taylor, 18. 9m-Ricky Montgomery, 19. 14k-Kyle Bellm, 20. 9-Gary Wright, 21. 21x-Taylor Velasquez, 22. 1-Ty Williams.


United Wireless IMCA Sport Modifieds:

First Heat (8 Laps):  1. 85c-Clay Sellard, 2. 15b-Andy Barton, 3. 92-Jeff Kaup, 4. 14w-Blaine Walt, 5. 8-Larry Grady, 6. 10t-Toby Witthuhn, 7. 75-Bailee Clift.

Second Heat (8 Laps):  1. 44-Austin Walker, 2. 56m-Mike Appel, 3. 37-Bart Baker, 4. 65-Josh Appel, 5. 2a-Colby Hagans, 6. 81-Brian May, 7. 91-Jordan Meyer.

“A” Feature (15 Laps):  1. 85c-Clay Sellard, 2. 44-Austin Walker, 3. 14w-Blaine Walt, 4. 65-Josh Appel, 5. 56m-Mike Appel, 6. 37-Bart Baker, 7. 8-Larry Grady, 8. 15b-Andy Barton, 9. 81-Brian May, 10. 10t-Toby Witthuhn, 11. 91-Jordan Meyer, 12. 2a-Colby Hagans, 13. 75-Bailee Clift, 14. 92-Jeff Kaup.


IMCA Stock Cars:

First Heat (8 Laps):  1. 20b-Brandon Clough, 2. 22-Michael Pepper, 3. 2-Eric Munoz, 4. 11m-Billy Phelps, 5. 11j-Justin Lewis, 6. 9s-Sonny O’Hair, 7. 19-Brett Copeland, 8. 15k-Danny Schulte.

Second Heat (8 Laps):  1. 10-Dustin Witthuhn, 2. 88-Mel Law, 3. 46m-Perry Misner, 4. 2m-Angel Munoz, 5. 2s-Reagan Sellard, 6. 46w-Cody Williams, 7. 07-Justin Temaat, 8. 11k-Kyle Clough.

“A” Feature (15 Laps):  1. 46m-Perry Misner, 2. 11m-Billy Phelps, 3. 2m-Angel Munoz, 4. 22-Michael Pepper, 5. 88-Mel Law, 6. 2s-Reagan Sellard, 7. 10-Dustin Witthuhn, 8. 9s-Sonny O’Hair, 9. 11j-Justin Lewis, 10. 2-Eric Munoz, 11. 19-Brett Copeland, 12. 07-Justin Temaat, 13. 15k-Danny Schulte, 14. 46w-Cody Williams, 15. 20b-Brandon Clough, 16. 11k-Kyle Clough (DNS).


Poor Boy Kustomz Thunder Cars:

First Heat (8 Laps):  1. 75-Randle McRoberts, 2. 22-Dan Rogers, 3. 007-Bryan Habiger, 4. 57-Tanner Brunson, 5. 17j-James Nightengale, 6. 31d-Dustin Walker, 7. 2d-Derek McDonough (DNS).

Second Heat (8 Laps):  1. 91d-Cody Davis, 2. 11m-W.D. Matteson, 3. 38-Scott Messino, 4. 58r-Codi Ehrlich, 5. 7-Tom Reed, 6. 25-Adam Duesing, 7. 006-Kim Frodin.

“A” Feature (15 Laps):  1. 22-Dan Rogers, 2. 91d-Cody Davis, 3. 11m-W.D. Matteson, 4. 58r-Codi Ehrlich, 5. 007-Bryan Habiger, 6. 38-Scott Messino, 7. 006-Kim Frodin, 8. 17j-James Nightengale, 9. 31d-Dustin Walker, 10. 7-Tom Reed, 11. 57-Tanner Brunson, 12. 75-Randle McRoberts, 13. 25-Adam Duesing (DNS), 14. 2d-Derek McDonough (DNS).