The DCRP Title Chases…

The DCRP Title Chases…

July 23, 2015 0 By admin

mods061315 980bLonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (July 23, 2015) – A big night is on tap Friday night at Dodge City Raceway Park with First Responder & Driver Appreciation Night at the 3/8-mile clay oval.

While First Responders are recognized with free admission and all variety of awards and prizes are distributed to drivers in appreciation for their support of the track, some important business will be at hand as well as all five DCRP championship chase divisions will battle it out for those precious championship points.

The United Rebel Sprint Series makes its third stop of the year at DCRP, which also marks the sixth of seven rounds of competition for the Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars. The IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sport Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars and IMCA Hobby Stocks round out Friday’s action.

Luke Cranston, Austin Allen, Jeff Kaup, Michael Pepper and Cody Davis lead their respective divisions into Friday’s First Responder & Driver Appreciation Night. A look at the current status of the championship point chases…

Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars:

Only one round of action remains for the DCRP Sprint Cars after Friday night’s card. Luke Cranston became the first repeat winner of the year by topping the URSS portion of the June 27 Steve King Memorial. C.J. Johnson topped the first URSS stop of the year at DCRP on June 6.

Feature Winners: Luke Cranston 2, C.J. Johnson 1, Tyler Knight 1, Ty Williams 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Luke Cranston (Ness City, KS) 718, 2. Zach Blurton (Great Bend, KS) 670, 3. Brian Herbert (Dodge City, KS) 631, 4. Ty Williams (Arcadia, OK) 626, 5. Kris Moore (Dodge City, KS) 602, 6. Keefe Hemel (Dodge City, KS) 595, 7. Koby Walters (Liberal, KS) 580, 8. Jeremy Huish (Jetmore, KS) 568, 9. Tyler Knight (Dodge City, KS) 557, 10. Cody Lampe (Jetmore, KS) 493.


IMCA Modifieds:

Finishing no lower than sixth in the last four races, Austin Allen has opened up a 51 point lead in his pursuit of a third consecutive track championship. After Clay Sellard topped the opening three races of the season, four different winners have followed. And Sellard is the only driver among the top 16 in points to post a feature win.

Feature Winners: Clay Sellard 3, Scott Green 1, David Murray 1, Jesse Richter 1, Cole Traugott 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Austin Allen (Goddard, KS) 952, 2. Clay Sellard (Bucklin, KS) 901, 3. Ryan Heger (Hugoton, KS) 851, 4. William Nusser (Larned, KS) 842, 5. Kevin Gray (Ulysses, KS) 800, 6. Kale Beavers (Pierceville, KS) 791, 7. Jimmy Brozek (Stafford, KS) 777, 8. Nick Link (Rolla, KS) 721, 9. Jack Kirchoff (Garden City, KS) 713, 10. (tie) Randy Wilson (Wichita, KS) and Heath Myers (Hoisington, KS) 681.


IMCA Sport Modifieds:

The Sport Mods have offered up a different winner each time out with nine winners in as many races as April 25 victor Jeff Kaup holds a 32-point edge over last week’s winner Mike Appel in his drive for a third consecutive track title.

Feature Winners: Josh Appel 1, Mike Appel 1, Alan Brewster 1, Jeff Kaup 1, Jason Lunow 1, Clay Money 1, Angel Munoz 1, Jeremy Sigler 1, Austin Walker 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Jeff Kaup (Woodward, KS) 1,254, 2. Mike Appel (Dodge City, KS) 1,222, 3. Josh Appel (Dodge City, KS) 1,178, 4. Brian May (Spearville, KS) 1,117, 5. Kevin Tabor (Dodge City, KS) 1,112, 6. Jason Lunow (Dodge City, KS) 1,078, 7. Jamie French (Hugoton, KS) 915, 8. Bart Baker (Dodge City, KS) 901, 9. Jeremy Sigler (Great Bend, KS) 890, 10. Darren Coyle 880.


IMCA Stock Cars:

Michael Pepper’s advantage is at a health 83 points over Ron Hartman although his win streak was stopped at three last Saturday night by Dusty Witthuhn.

Feature Winners: Michael Pepper 5, Jason Rogers 1, Dusty Witthuhn 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Michael Pepper (Lakin, KS) 1,005, 2. Ron Hartman (Ulysses, KS) 922, 3. Brett Copeland (Fowler, KS) 908, 4. Marlin Hogie (Ulysses, KS) 900, 5. Kyle Tillery (Beaver, OK) 888, 6. Randy Dowell (Ulysses, KS) 810, 7. Dusty Witthuhn (Bazine, KS) 719, 8. Chris Oliver (Garden City, KS) 570, 9. Trevor Schmidt (Hays, KS) 369, Dalton Bauer (Ness City, KS) 273.


IMCA Hobby Stocks:

With seven top-five finishes in as many races and only one finish worse than third, Cody Williams has stretched out an 84 point lead over Reagan Sellard in the chase for the Hobby Stock crown.

Feature Winners: Cody Davis 2, Matt O’Hair 2, Will Bauer 1, Reagan Sellard 1, Cody Williams 1.

Current Top Ten in Points: 1. Cody Davis (Bucklin, KS) 1,003, 2. Reagan Sellard (Bucklin, KS) 919, 3. Tom Reed (Kalvesta, KS) 807, 4. Clint Long 803, 5. Matt O’Hair (Laverne, OK) 702, 6. Bryan Habiger (Ingalls, KS) 642, 7. Zack McLemore 621, 8. Corey Hacker (Dodge City, KS) 593, 9. Jason Cleveland (Minneapolis, KS) 544, 10. Will Bauer (Ness City, KS) 536.


General admission tickets to Friday’s First Responder & Driver Appreciation Night are just $15 for adults, with children 11 and under admitted free when accompanied by an adult. Pit admission is $30.

The 2015 slate of events at Dodge City Raceway Park includes 15 nights of competition with a number of special events along the way. The track’s full slate of events is available at

Dodge City Raceway Park is located on the south edge of Dodge City, KS, on US 283, then 0.9 miles west on US 56, then 0.1 miles south. For more information, contact the track at 620-225-3277 or check