The DCRP Title Chases at the Quarter Pole

May 17, 2019 0 By admin

Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (May 17, 2019) – Approximately one-quarter through the 2019 championship chase season at Dodge City Raceway Park, a handful of drivers hold the early lead in pursuit of the hardware.

And, of those five leaders, none are reigning champions although three have captured a DCRP track championship in the past.

Saturday night offers up the fourth round of action for all five divisions including the Precise Racing Products DRP Sprint Cars, IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sport Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars and IMCA Hobby Stocks.  The event that his headlined by the DCRP vs. URSS Sprint Car Clash goes green at 7:30 p.m.

Leading the way into Saturday’s action in their respective classes are Luke Cranston (DCRP Sprint Cars), Clay Sellard (IMCA Modifieds), Dakota Sproul (IMCA Sport Modifieds), Angel Munoz (IMCA Stock Cars) and Cody Ghumm (IMCA Hobby Stocks).  Cranston, Sellard and Munoz have each captured previous DCRP track championships.

Adult admission for Saturday’s card is only $15 with children 11 and under admitted free when accompanied by an adult.  It kicks off a weekend double that also includes the Round Two atop the newly-constructed Little DCRP clay oval on Sunday afternoon for Micro Sprints and Karts.

A look at the 2019 DCRP championship chases is as follows:


Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars: 

Opening night winner and 2015 track champ Luke Cranston holds the early advantage, but defending titlist Steven Richardson has cut the gap down to just 19 points after a win the last time out.

Feature Winners: Luke Cranston 1, Brian Herbert 1, Steven Richardson 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Luke Cranston 433, 2. Steven Richardson 419, 3. Jeremy Huish 387, 4. Tyler Knight 372, 5. Jordan Knight 355, 6. Kyler Johnson 353, 7. Kris Moore 339, 8. Ross Essenburg 313, 9. Brian Herbert 288, 10. Koby Walters 280.


IMCA Modifieds: 

Clay Money has gone two for three so far, but it’s 2017 champ Clay Sellard leads the way by 51 points over Jesse Smith and defending champion Nick Link, who are tied for second.

Feature Winners: Clay Money 2, Brendon Gemmill 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Clay Sellard 427, 2. (tie) Nick Link and Jesse Smith 376, 4. William Nusser 364, 5. Jake Schroeder 361, 6. Trent Gray 358, 7. Kale Beavers 357, 8. Joel Lane 351, 9. Kevin Gray 334, 10. Ryan Keller 308.


IMCA Sport Modifieds: 

Travis Burger made the trip from Manhattan last time out on May 4 and put a stop to Dakota Sproul’s three-race win streak that dated back to last year’s season finale.  But the Hays racer still holds a 17-point edge over Brian May and multi-time track champion Jeff Kaup.

Feature Winners:  Dakota Sproul 2, Travis Burger 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Dakota Sproul 438, 2. (tie) Jeff Kaup and Brian May 421, 4. Bart Baker 393, 5. Mike Lunow 380, 6. Mike Appel 362, 7. (tie) Alex Wiens and Kyle Wiens 352, 9. Luke Stallbaumer 280, 10. Travis Burger 279.


IMCA Stock Cars: 

Forced into a second Baird entry after wiping out his primary ride the previous night, Angel Munoz’ run of two wins in a row was stopped by Kyle Pfeifer last time out at the Stock Car Shootout.  Still, with a third-place finish, Munoz holds a 54 point advantage over Ondre Rexford with Chris Oliver and Marlin Hogie another three points back. 

Feature Winners: Angel Munoz 2, Kyle Pfeifer 1.


Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Angel Munoz 441, 2. Ondre Rexford 387, 3. (tie) Chris Oliver and Marlin Hogie 384, 5. Donald Kaup 362, 6. Gerald Walker 361, 7. Tyler Walker 357, 8. Josh Siebert 352, 9. Jason Rogers 290, 10. Mike Petersilie 276.


IMCA Hobby Stocks:

 Duane Wahrman surrendered the points lead the last time out.  But not by much as Cody Ghumm sits atop the point charts with a mere three-point advantage.

Feature Winners: Tathan Burkhart 2, Duane Wahrman 1.

Current Top Ten in Points:  1. Cody Ghumm 411, 2. Duane Wahrman 408, 3. Reagan Sellard 397, 4. Chad Kelley 374, 5. Sheri Berger 373, 6. Brian Thomas 371, 7. Skeets Salazar 363, 8. Tom Reed 357, 9. Derrick Sprott 315, 10. Tathan Burkhart 300.


In total, the 2019 season atop the 3/8-mile Dodge City Raceway Park clay oval is slated for 18 nights of action along with another eight Sunday cards atop the newly-constructed 1/7-mile Little DCRP clay oval.

The complete slate of 2019 events at DCRP is available at

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dodge City located at 201 4th Avenue is the official lodging partner of Dodge City Raceway Park.  Race fans staying at the Holiday Inn & Suites Dodge City will want to request the special DCRP rate for their visit when making reservations. Contact the Holiday Inn Express at 620-225-1000.

Dodge City Raceway Park is located on the south edge of Dodge City, KS, on US 283, then 0.9 miles west on US 56, then 0.1 miles south.  For more information, contact the track at 620-225-3277 or check