Troy Gemmill Gets it Done at DCRP!

Troy Gemmill Gets it Done at DCRP!

June 2, 2013 0 By admin

Troy Gemmill IMCA Modified Win DCRP 060113Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (June 1, 2013) – Troy Gemmill became the fourth different IMCA Modified feature winner in as many events at Dodge City Raceway Park by racing to victory lane in Saturday night’s 20-lap main event atop the 3/8-mile clay oval.

While Gemmill snared Modified honors, other Saturday night winners included Austin Walker in United Wireless IMCA Sport Modifieds, Angel Munoz in IMCA Stock Cars, Tobby Schield in Thunder Cars and Jarett Lunow in Hornets.

Starting from the third position, the veteran shoe from Ponca City, OK, needed just three laps to take the lead away from Kevin Gray and led the rest of the way with no serious challenges en route to the checkered flag.

In Gemmill’s wake, Gray held the second position until the final handful of laps when opening day winner Cody Gearhart battled into second with Mike Wadel rebounding to claim the show position after a lap six incident that sent Ryan Heger into a wild turn four flip.  Heger was uninjured.

Gray settled for fourth, with Austin Allen taking sole possession of the IMCA Modified points lead by rounding out the top five after nearly taking runner-up honors before getting shuffled back after a late race miscue.

Austin Walker made the most of his pole starting position in the United Wireless IMCA Sport Modified main event, leading all 20 circuits to become the fourth different winner of the year as well in as many events.

While the Utica, KS, driver led all the way, he  had his hands full with points leader Jeff Kaup over the final rounds.  Walker fended off Kaup for the win with Daylon Bergeron a close third.  Matthew Crowell was fourth, while Clay Sellard bounced back from lap nine spin in turn two while running second to round out the top five.

Angel Munoz IMCA Stock Car Win DCRP 060113In IMCA Stock Car action, Lamar, Colorado’s Angel Munoz needed just five laps to race from eighth past Michael Pepper into the lead.  Pepper, who took the early lead away from Sonny O’Hair on the second lap, kept the pressure on Munoz throughout but was unable to recapture the point.

Just as in Modifieds and Sport Modifieds, Munoz was the fourth different winner of the season after taking the checkered flag ahead of Pepper, while O’Hair, Cody Zimmerman and Keith Riley rounded out the top five.

In Thunder Car action, Tobby Schield became the first repeat winner in 15 overall DCRP championship feature events atop the 3/8-mile clay oval thus far in 2013 by taking the lead away from Michael Penrod on the sixth round and leading the rest of the way in the 20-lapper.

After racing from seventh to take the lead, the Sublette, KS, shoe held off Dustin Walker over the final half of the race with Jeff Callen, Bryan Habiger and Matt O’Hair rounding out the top five.

Jarett Lunow Hornet Win DCRP 060113Jarett Lunow continues to carry the hot Hornet hand on the inner asphalt oval, racing past James Phelps on the third round en route to his third feature triumph in four events.

Racing action resumes at Dodge City Raceway Park on Saturday night, June 15, with another full card of championship chase action featuring IMCA Modifieds, United Wireless IMCA Sport Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars, Thunder Cars and Hornets.

Dodge City Raceway Park – June 1 Results:

IMCA Modifieds:

First Heat (8 Laps):  1. 721-Troy Gemmill, 2. 16-Kevin Gray, 3. 88j-Jack Kirchoff, 4. 1n-Nick Link, 5. 01x-Beau Davis, 6. A2-Randy Wilson, 7. 36-Travis Simmons, 8. 25-Kale Beavers, 9. M15-Mike Martin.

Second Heat (8 Laps):  1. 1m-Cody Gearhart, 2. G3-Brendon Gemmill, 3. 18-Austin Allen, 4. 3h-Ryan Heger, 5. 22T-Trent Gray, 6. 57-Joel Lane, 7. 7n-William Nusser, 8. 32-Jason Edwards.

Third Heat (8 Laps):  1. 80m-Mike Wadel, 2. 01-Jesse Smith, 3. 98-Danny Keller, 4. 3c-Casey Gemmill, 5. B4-Jared Baird, 6. 96jr-Jon Herring, Jr. DNS: 911-Strawn Taylor, 96-Jon Herring, Sr.

“A” Feature (20 Laps):  1. 721-Troy Gemmill, 2. 1m-Cody Gearhart, 3. 80m-Mike Wadel, 4. 16-Kevin Gray, 5. 18-Austin Allen, 6. 88j-Jack Kirchoff, 7. 01x-Beau Davis, 8. 98-Danny Keller, 9. 25-Kale Beavers, 10. 911-Strawn Taylor, 11. 3c-Casey Gemmill, 12. 36-Travis Simmons, 13. 7n-William Nusser, 14. 1n-Nick Link, 15. M15-Mike Martin, 16. 22T-Trent Gray, 17. 57-Joel Lane, 18. 01-Jesse Smith, 19. 3h-Ryan Heger, 20. A2-Randy Wilson, 21. 96jr-Jon Herring, Jr., 22. G3-Brendon Gemmill, 23. B4-Jared Baird. DNS: 32-Jason Edwards, 96-Jon Herring, Sr.


Austin Walker IMCA Sport Mod Win DCRP 060113United Wireless IMCA Sport Modifieds:

First Heat (8 Laps):  1. 44-Austin Walker, 2. 85c-Clay Sellard, 3. 22-Randle McRoberts, 4. 10T-Toby Witthuhn, 5. 2-Colby Hagans, 6. 91-Donald Kaup, 7. 2c-Matthew Crowell, 8. 3*-Adam Stenzel.

Second Heat (8 Laps):  1. 92-Jeff Kaup, 2. 56m-Mike Appel, 3. 4p-Daylon Bergeron, 4. 65j-Josh Appel, 5. 39-Brian May, 6. 11-Jason Dove, 7. 31-Raymond Blackburn, 8. 14n-Marty Chockley.

“A” Feature (20 Laps):  1. 44-Austin Walker, 2. 92-Jeff Kaup, 3. 4p-Daylon Bergeron, 4. 2c-Matthew Crowell, 5. 85c-Clay Sellard, 6. 56m-Mike Appel, 7. 65j-Josh Appel, 8. 11-Jason Dove, 9. 10T-Toby Witthuhn, 10. 39-Brian May, 11. 22-Randle McRoberts, 12. 31-Raymond Blackburn, 13. 91-Donald Kaup, 14. 2-Colby Hagans, 15. 3*-Adam Stenzel. DNS: 14n-Marty Chockley.


IMCA Stock Cars:

First Heat (8 Laps):  1. 9s-Sonny O’Hair, 2. 11-Ron Rich, 3. 14-Keith Riley, 4. 07-Justin Temaat, 5. 24-Eric Venard, 6. 18r-Brandon Sprott, 7. 2s-Reagan Sellard.

Second Heat (8 Laps):  1. 2m-Angel Munoz, 2. 22p-Michael Pepper, 3. 2z-Cody Zimmerman, 4. 33-Marlin Hogie, 5. 88-Mel Law, 6. R0C-Cody Williams, 7. 9-Derrick Sprott.

Third Heat (8 Laps):  1. 11m-Billy Phelps, 2. 10-Dusty Witthuhn, 3. 19-Brett Copeland, 4. 064-Cody Orth, 5. 96-Shane Tillery, 6. 58-Kyle Tillery.

“A” Feature (20 Laps):  1. 2m-Angel Munoz, 2. 22p-Michael Pepper, 3. 9s-Sonny O’Hair, 4. 2z-Cody Zimmerman, 5. 14-Keith Riley, 6. 11m-Billy Phelps, 7. 11-Ron Rich, 8. 2s-Reagan Sellard, 9. 33-Marlin Hogie, 10. 064-Cody Orth, 11. 96-Shane Tillery, 12. 58-Kyle Tillery, 13. 07-Justin Temaat, 14. 24-Eric Venard, 15. 9-Derrick Sprott, 16. 88-Mel Law, 17. 19-Brett Copeland, 18. 18r-Brandon Sprott, 19. R0C-Cody Williams, 20. 10-Dusty Witthuhn.


Tobby Schield Thunder Car Win DCRP 060113Thunder Cars:

First Heat (8 Laps):  1. 11m-W.D. Matteson, 2. 31d-Dustin Walker, 3. 2m-Matt O’Hair, 4. 44b-David Berger, 5. 41-Fred Elliott, 6. 006-Kim Frodin, 7. 00-David Shumard, 8. 25-Adam Duesing.

Second Heat (8 Laps):  1. 72T-Tobby Schield, 2. 45p-Michael Penrod, 3. 8-Will Bauer, 4. 58r-Rob Sellard, 5. 4d-Chad Garrison, 6. 66-Chad Davis, 7. 8k-Kevin Tabor.

Third Heat (8 Laps):  1. 22-Dan Rogers, 2. 007-Bryan Habiger, 3. 91d-Cody Davis, 4. 7c-Jeff Callen, 5. 87-Norman Carr, 6. 7-Tom Reed, 7. 75x-Duane Mathes.

“A” Feature (20 Laps):  1. 72T-Tobby Schield, 2. 31d-Dustin Walker, 3. 7c-Jeff Callen, 4. 007-Bryan Habiger, 5. 2m-Matt O’Hair, 6. 11m-W.D. Matteson, 7. 8-Will Bauer, 8. 41-Fred Elliott, 9. 00-David Shumard, 10. 75x-Duane Mathes, 11. 7-Tom Reed, 12. 44b-David Berger, 13. 22-Dan Rogers, 14. 91d-Cody Davis, 15. 25-Adam Duesing, 16. 006-Kim Frodin, 17. 45p-Michael Penrod, 18. 4d-Chad Garrison, 19. 66-Chad Davis. DNS: 58r-Rob Sellard, 87-Norman Carr, 8k-Kevin Tabor.



First Heat (6 Laps):  1. 7-Jarett Lunow, 2. 11m-James Phelps, 3. 29-Brandon Bogner, 4. 17j-James Nightengale, 5. 10-Marci O’Hair.

“A” Feature (10 Laps):  1. 7-Jarett Lunow, 2. 11m-James Phelps, 3. 29-Brandon Bogner, 4. 17j-James Nightengale, 5. 10-Marci O’Hair.