Walters & Nusser Among Saturday DCRP Winners

Walters & Nusser Among Saturday DCRP Winners

April 24, 2016 0 By admin

Koby Walters Win DCRP Sprint Cars 042316Lonnie Wheatley, DODGE CITY, Kan. (April 23, 2016) – Koby Walters and William Nusser were among Saturday night’s feature winners as championship chase action continued atop the 3/8-mile Dodge City Raceway Park.

While Walters and Nusser were both first-time DCRP winners in the Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars and IMCA Modified ranks, respectively, other Saturday night winners included Jeff Kaup in IMCA Sport Modifieds, Michael Pepper in IMCA Stock Cars and Reagan Sellard in IMCA Hobby Stocks.

In Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Car action, Liberal’s Koby Walters became the third different winner in as many rounds of competition this season by racing to victory lane in the 20-lap feature event.

Walters inherited the point when early pacesetter Lance Davis spun from the lead in turn two on the fourth round and then survived a late bid from Taylor Velasquez after a late caution set up a three-lap dash to the stripe.

While Velasquez tried the top side of turns one two, Walters was too strong on the bottom at both ends to put the victory away aboard the Walters Irrigation No. 33.

Velasquez settled for runner-up honors with Tyler Knight the beneficiary of late-race problems that forced third and fourth runners Kade Hagans and Ray Seemann to the infield with just three laps remaining. Knight filled out the podium in third with Barry Crane and Mike Peters rounding out the top five.

William Nusser Win IMCA Modifieds DCRP 042316In IMCA Modified competition, Larned’s William Nusser made a late move around race-long leader Trent Gray to capture his first career feature win in the 20-lapper.

Gray broke into the early lead from the pole starting position with Nusser and Clay Sellard turning up the pressure as the race progressed.

Nusser kept looking to Gray’s inside with Sellard nipping at the heels of both. Nusser finally squeezed under and raced into the lead exiting turn four on the 17th lap. Nusser held the point over the final rounds to take the victory ahead of Gray and Sellard with Jack Kirchoff and Cody Gearhart rounding out the top five.

After entering the night atop points, Nick Link held down fifth with the white flag in sight only to fall deep into the field with a flat right front tire on the final lap.

Jeff Kaup DCRP Win IMCA Sport Mods 042316Breaking an extended streak of different winners in IMCA Sport Modified action last time out, Woodward’s Jeff Kaup has a new streak in progress after winning his second 15-lapper in a row.

With Kaup working forward from ninth, Austin Walker paced the early rounds with Kaup making it up to third behind Mike Appel by the fourth lap. Kaup disposed of Appel for second by the tenth circuit and then made his way past Walker the next time around on the low side of turns three and four.

Kaup raced on to the line ahead of Walker, Appel, Kevin Tabor and Darren Crouch.

Like Kaup, another reigning track champion made his way to victory lane with Lakin’s Michael Pepper racing to his first DCRP win of the year in IMCA Stock Car competition.

Pepper worked past Chris Oliver on the fourth round and never looked back in the 15-lapper, ultimately taking the checkered flag ahead of opening night winner and Tyler Tipton and Oliver in third.

Reagan Sellard DCRP Win IMCA Stock Cars 042316The IMCA Hobby Stock ranks offered up a third different winner in as many events with Bucklin’s Reagan Sellard wiring the field in the 15-lapper for his first triumph since last year’s season finale.

Sellard held off advances from Duane Wahrman and Cody Williams over the closing rounds with reigning champion Cody Davis and Tobby Schield rounding out the top five.

Action continues at Dodge City Raceway Park on Saturday night, May 7, with the NCRA/ NSL 360 Sprint Cars along with track championship chase action for IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sport Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars and IMCA Hobby Stocks.

Dodge City Raceway Park

April 23 Results:

Precise Racing Products DCRP Sprint Cars

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 72-Ray Seemann, 2. 11k-Tyler Knight, 3. 1x-Cody Lampe, 4. 9d-Lance Davis, 5. 49-Kris Moore, 6. 18-Brandon Sprott, 7. 17x-Craig Jecha, 8. 3-Ryan Walters, 9. 7r-Beau Ricke.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 21x-Taylor Velasquez, 2. E85-Kade Hagans, 3. 33x-Kris Miller, 4. 112-Richie Dewell, 5. 28-Tracey Hill, 6. 20-Luke Cranston, 7. 0-Steven Richardson, 8. 11-Keefe Hemel.

Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 33-Koby Walters, 2. 30c-Barry Crane, 3. 97-Brian Herbert, 4. 49x-Mike Peters, 5. 007-Jordan Randles, 6. 20J-Brandy Jones, 7. 6-Kaden Taylor, 8. 10-Jordan Knight.

“B” Main (10 Laps): 1. 20-Luke Cranston, 2. 49-Kris Moore, 3. 007-Jordan Randles, 4. 11-Keefe Hemel, 5. 6-Kaden Taylor, 6. 10-Jordan Knight, 7. 17x-Craig Jecha, 8. 7r-Beau Ricke, 9. 3-Ryan Walters, 10. 0-Steven Richardson, 11. 20J-Brandy Jones.

“A” Main (20 Laps): 1. 33-Koby Walters, 2. 21x-Taylor Velasquez, 3. 11k-Tyler Knight, 4. 30c-Barry Crane, 5. 49x-Mike Peters, 6. 20-Luke Cranston, 7. 97-Brian Herbert, 8. 28-Tracey Hill, 9. 33x-Kris Miller, 10. 11-Keefe Hemel, 11. 18-Brandon Sprott, 12. 6-Kaden Taylor, 13. 9d-Lance Davis, 14. 10-Jordan Knight, 15. 112-Richie Dewell, 16. 72-Ray Seemann, 17. E85-Kade Hagans, 18. 49-Kris Moore, 19. 1x-Cody Lampe, 20. 007-Jordan Randles (DNS).


IMCA Modifieds:

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 7n-William Nusser, 2. 75-Randle McRoberts, 3. 22T-Trent Gray, 4. 16-Kevin Gray, 5. 57-Joel Lane, 6. 3h-Ryan Heger, 7. K98-Danny Keller, 8. 25b-Tom Beavers, 9. 52-Clayton Hogie, 10. 01-Jesse Smith (DNS).

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 85c-Clay Sellard, 2. 1n-Nick Link, 3. 1m-Cody Gearhart, 4. 88J-Jack Kirchoff, 5. 44-Mike Lunow, 6. 27-Grant Florence, 7. 25-Kale Beavers, 8. 22k-Brad Keller, 9. 7s-David Solberg, 10. 2L-Tracy Link.

“A” Main (20 Laps): 1. 7n-William Nusser, 2. 22T-Trent Gray, 3. 85c-Clay Sellard, 4. 88J-Jack Kirchoff, 5. 1m-Cody Gearhart, 6. 16-Kevin Gray, 7. 3h-Ryan Heger, 8. 22k-Brad Keller, 9. 25-Kale Beavers, 10. 27-Grant Florence, 11. 57-Joel Lane, 12. K98-Danny Keller, 13. 2L-Tracy Link, 14. 1n-Nick Link, 15. 44-Mike Lunow, 16. 7s-David Solberg, 17. 25b-Tom Beavers, 18. 75-Randle McRoberts, 19. 52-Clayton Hogie, 20. 01-Jesse Smith (DNS).


IMCA Sport Modifieds:

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 92-Jeff Kaup, 2. 3s-Adam Stenzel, 3. 56m-Mike Appel, 4. 21J-Jeremy Sigler, 5. 8-Brian May, 6. 4-Scott Claussen, 7. 57-Tanner Brunson.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 37-Bart Baker, 2. 18-Kyle Wiens, 3. 12-Kevin Tabor, 4. 44-Austin Walker, 5. 15-Darren Crouch, 6. 7J-Jamie French, 7. 10-Alex Wiens.

“A” Main (15 Laps): 1. 92-Jeff Kaup, 2. 44-Austin Walker, 3. 56m-Mike Appel, 4. 12-Kevin Tabor, 5. 15-Darren Crouch, 6. 7J-Jamie French, 7. 18-Kyle Wiens, 8. 37-Bart Baker, 9. 8-Brian May, 10. 3s-Adam Stenzel, 11. 57-Tanner Brunson, 12. 4-Scott Claussen, 13. 10-Alex Wiens, 14. 21J-Jeremy Sigler.


Michael Pepper Win IMCA Stock Cars 042316IMCA Stock Cars:

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 22-Michael Pepper, 2. 95-Tyler Tipton, 3. 33-Marlin Hogie, 4. 3-Chris Oliver, 5. 97x-Ondre Rexford (DNS).

“A” Main (15 Laps): 1. 22-Michael Pepper, 2. 95-Tyler Tipton, 3. 3-Chris Oliver, 4. 33-Marlin Hogie, 5. 97x-Ondre Rexford.


IMCA Hobby Stocks:

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 72T-Tobby Schield, 2. 22-Ruben Eichman, 3. 77-Cody Williams, 4. 55-Jacob Huse, 5. 007-Bryan Habiger, 6. 20-Tyler Walker, 7. 69-Danny Schulte.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 2s-Reagan Sellard, 2. 2m-Matt O’Hair, 3. 91d-Cody Davis, 4. 17w-Duane Wahrman, 5. 44b-David Berger, 6. 45p-Michael Penrod, 7. 7-Tom Reed.

“A” Main (15 Laps): 1. 2s-Reagan Sellard, 2. 17w-Duane Wahrman, 3. 77-Cody Williams, 4. 91d-Cody Davis, 5. 72T-Tobby Schield, 6. 22-Ruben Eichman, 7. 007-Bryan Habiger, 8. 69-Danny Schulte, 9. 45p-Michael Penrod, 10. 20-Tyler Walker, 11. 7-Tom Reed, 12. 55-Jacob Huse, 13. 44b-David Berger, 14. 2m-Matt O’Hair.